Hi, Some questions for new starter

imhotep1989imhotep1989 Member Posts: 2

Hi, I am new to game developing and thinking to get gamesalad to have a try. I am not thinking to quit my job or anything, just wanted to have a go in my free time since I am creative and want to see what it is like.

I know that there is quite alot of people out there who develop games so I was just wondering if anybody can answer me some questions.

1. Often I see games in the play store which may be good, but getting 1 star reviews since they don't work on some users phone well due to bugs. Sometimes it might crash on loadup even, which I can imagine is annoying for a user especially if they bought it outright. How can you test all this before releasing your game/app without buying every smartphone/tablet to try it on? Would an emulator like Memu for example work to test to emulate different smartphones?

2. If you discover a problem like above, and having no coding knowledge, is it fixable using gamesalad for a novice? Are these kind of problems simple or complex?

3. If your game/app gets approved on the stores and released, let's say it doesn't perform well in sales, does it eventually get removed for being 'dead'? Or can only you remove it so long as it doesn't break any rules?

4. Is it possible to create any games other than a 2d side scroller with gamesalad? I know it's more of a beginner kind of engine, but can it for example create a simple rpg game? or a tower defence game?

Thank you

Comments

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949

Welcome and great questions!

1. There are several ways to test GameSalad projects but with regard to specific devices, you really need to have or know someone who has a variety of devices. You can use Apple's TestFlight service (among other methods) to install testing versions of your projects on those devices. I am not familiar with Memu and haven't used emulators with GameSalad so I can't comment on that.