GameSalad

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Introducing Graphene SDK...

1171819202123»

Comments

  • safransafran Posts: 32Member

    How about graphene?

  • RossmanBrothersGamesRossmanBrothersGames Posts: 656Member

    Absolutely can't wait to give this a go.

  • FINNBOGGFINNBOGG Posts: 1,809Member

    @CodeWizard said:
    Yeah, there'll be a free version. And you'll have to pay for some cool stuff. And we're still making progress. New website is almost ready. We'll start adding more folks soon after.

    Just finished up table editing this week (1.0). Will finish up physics and audio. Then we're doing more polish work. Etc etc.

    Soon!

    Im sorry but I almost had a heart attack and spilled my Dr.Pepper all over my computer when I read this.

    (" Just finished up table editing this week (1.0). ")

    Someone from GameSalad actually used something other that a "0" on the left side of the decimal. I know it doesnt relate to GS Creator being anywhere close to being out of beta. But when I saw it I had a triple take.

  • CodeWizardCodeWizard Posts: 1,143Key Master, Head Chef, Executive Chef, Member, PRO GameSalad Employee

    @safran Yes, Graphene supports copy and paste. You can also export actors, behaviors, scenes, etc. for reuse in other projects. The tool automatically packages up your assets and logic for you. It's very flexible!

  • FINNBOGGFINNBOGG Posts: 1,809Member

    Sounds nice. I am all for waiting 3 more years for graphene to go beta like GS creator. As long as in that 3 yrs when you release it. you have taken the time to add alot of the features that have been asked for. Example Copy and Paste. There are tons of lil things like that, that will make using graphene so much easier and faster to use than GS creators current abilities. I just dont want release day to start out with when is it gonna do this. when are you going to implement this. I thought you said it was gonna have this and that. And the usual response be. "Please refer to ninjas posting about our current roadmap."

    Dont mean to sound negative.

  • safransafran Posts: 32Member

    Woohoo! Fantastic!

    @CodeWizard said:
    safran Yes, Graphene supports copy and paste. You can also export actors, behaviors, scenes, etc. for reuse in other projects. The tool automatically packages up your assets and logic for you. It's very flexible!

  • SummationSummation Posts: 476Member, PRO

    @CodeWizard said:
    safran Yes, Graphene supports copy and paste. You can also export actors, behaviors, scenes, etc. for reuse in other projects. The tool automatically packages up your assets and logic for you. It's very flexible!

    Sorry if this has been gone over before, but is Graphene going to be Lua based?

  • scottharrrules43scottharrrules43 Tulsa, OklahomaPosts: 694Member, PRO

    @Summation said:
    Sorry if this has been gone over before, but is Graphene going to be Lua based?

    Yes

  • RainbrosRainbros Posts: 124Member

    @CodeWizard I assume Graphene will have function...uh, functionality? :)

  • StormyStudioStormyStudio United KingdomPosts: 3,987Member

    still looking forward to this...

  • LumpAppsLumpApps Posts: 2,867Member

    And dogs, them too ;)

  • KC_GamesKC_Games Posts: 86Member, PRO

    Sorry if this has been answered already but how much will Graphene be?

  • PhilipCCPhilipCC Encounter Bay, South AustraliaPosts: 1,390Member

    @KC_Games said:
    Sorry if this has been answered already but how much will Graphene be?

    Nobody knows yet.

  • Creator97Creator97 Posts: 140Member

    I am currently working on my app in Gamesalad and it's a huge pain for me to set up custom collision shapes to my actor's. I am just about to give up (and use just circles and rectangles instead) because it's getting more and more complex to really be able to work with it fast enough. Do we have information about that, if Graphene SDK will offer better ways (Like just collide where the actor begin's :smile: ).
    About what I know is that you have to start new again. I mean there's no compatibility that you can import projects created with game salad in Graphene SDK. Is that right?
    And last question: Last I read was that you're working currently on physics and audio. Maybe you're just about to do the polish work. So does that mean then you will do open beta (within weeks)? And will we then already be able to publish games in the app store, or are you going to wait for more people to test and then legitimate to let them publish.

  • scottharrrules43scottharrrules43 Tulsa, OklahomaPosts: 694Member, PRO

    @Creator97 said:
    I am currently working on my app in Gamesalad and it's a huge pain for me to set up custom collision shapes to my actor's. I am just about to give up (and use just circles and rectangles instead) because it's getting more and more complex to really be able to work with it fast enough. Do we have information about that, if Graphene SDK will offer better ways (Like just collide where the actor begin's :smile: ).
    About what I know is that you have to start new again. I mean there's no compatibility that you can import projects created with game salad in Graphene SDK. Is that right?
    And last question: Last I read was that you're working currently on physics and audio. Maybe you're just about to do the polish work. So does that mean then you will do open beta (within weeks)? And will we then already be able to publish games in the app store, or are you going to wait for more people to test and then legitimate to let them publish.

    Gamesalad is going to offer polygon Collison soon hopeful before end of year. Graphene "may" not come out before Gamesalad offer this feature.
    Here is the answer about porting from Gamesalad to Graphene. Go 1:40:00

    Don't know about last question.

  • Nate_SNate_S Nate - Pixel Artist - Developer - Graphics Designer Posts: 86Member

    Wow, Cant Wait!

    **Nate - Pixel Artist - Developer - Graphics Designer **

  • Creator97Creator97 Posts: 140Member

    @scottharrrules43 . Thank you for post. Where did you get this information about the polygon collision? Also from the meetup? (That would be so cool... Means I will keep the current graphics saved for later and will customize them to fit with rectangle collision and then make new levels with polygon collision): That should then work like this: Am I right?
    And I don't know what I understood about porting... Will it be offered from the game salad theam, or will it be more a third party app. So what would it be like? Press a button and see what happens and then correct what the program couldn't do. How should I imagine porting something. Can you tell me?
    Yeah and the last question about you were also interested like I saw, couldn't have been answered...

  • scottharrrules43scottharrrules43 Tulsa, OklahomaPosts: 694Member, PRO
    edited June 2015

    @Creator97 said:
    scottharrrules43 . Thank you for post. Where did you get this information about the polygon collision? Also from the meetup? (That would be so cool... Means I will keep the current graphics saved for later and will customize them to fit with rectangle collision and then make new levels with polygon collision): That should then work like this: Am I right?
    And I don't know what I understood about porting... Will it be offered from the game salad theam, or will it be more a third party app. So what would it be like? Press a button and see what happens and then correct what the program couldn't do. How should I imagine porting something. Can you tell me?
    Yeah and the last question about you were also interested like I saw, couldn't have been answered...

    Polygon collision go to Gamesalad.com/roadmap (longer goals) it is also too on bugs.gamesalad.com.
    http://bugs.gamesalad.com/show_bug.cgi?id=252

    Porting is going to have to probably come from Gamesalad side unless a non gs employee knows about gs programming. I expect at launch there to be no porting thing at all but idk for sure.

  • Creator97Creator97 Posts: 140Member

    Thank you for the Link:
    BlackCloakGS Flea Market Alpha 2015-01-12 13:07:53 CST
    We will be adding custom polygon collisons shapes for actors to a future version of GameSalad Creator.

    cousinisaac 2015-04-23 14:09:26 CDT
    Another, perhaps simpler, option might be to detect collisions only when non-transparent pixels overlap. So, if we import artwork for actors as .PNGs with transparent backgrounds, when they overlap or collide at the edges nothing happens, but if their middles overlap or collide where the pixels have non-transparent values, then they would trigger a collusion.

    Wow that's sounds so easy, but is it really a solution?

  • ValanValan Posts: 405Member

    @Creator97 said:
    Thank you for the Link:
    BlackCloakGS Flea Market Alpha 2015-01-12 13:07:53 CST
    We will be adding custom polygon collisons shapes for actors to a future version of GameSalad Creator.

    cousinisaac 2015-04-23 14:09:26 CDT
    Another, perhaps simpler, option might be to detect collisions only when non-transparent pixels overlap. So, if we import artwork for actors as .PNGs with transparent backgrounds, when they overlap or collide at the edges nothing happens, but if their middles overlap or collide where the pixels have non-transparent values, then they would trigger a collusion.

    Wow that's sounds so easy, but is it really a solution?

    Sounds good but it is only a partial solution. An overlapping of coloured pixels is used as a trigger. A full solution should be able to detect adjacent pixels also.

  • AngryBoiAngryBoi Posts: 586Member

    Wait so , where is it?

  • owen_dennisowen_dennis Just a guy, you know. Posts: 236Member, PRO
    edited June 2015

    @Creator97 said:
    Thank you for the Link:
    BlackCloakGS Flea Market Alpha 2015-01-12 13:07:53 CST
    We will be adding custom polygon collisons shapes for actors to a future version of GameSalad Creator.

    cousinisaac 2015-04-23 14:09:26 CDT
    Another, perhaps simpler, option might be to detect collisions only when non-transparent pixels overlap. So, if we import artwork for actors as .PNGs with transparent backgrounds, when they overlap or collide at the edges nothing happens, but if their middles overlap or collide where the pixels have non-transparent values, then they would trigger a collusion.

    Wow that's sounds so easy, but is it really a solution?

    That would be tough to deal with animated actors. If your animated actor has a section of it you don't want to be interacted with, you wouldn't be able to set that boundary. Or if you have one frame that's slightly bigger than the others, but you want the boundary to stay within something set within the other frames, you wouldn't be able to set that either.

    Having it be pixel based would only open up different problems from the ones we currently have.

  • Creator97Creator97 Posts: 140Member

    So Polygon Based is the only Real Solution, and we are getting that. (Before Graphene)

  • pHghostpHghost London, UKPosts: 2,301Member

    @Creator97 said:
    (Before Graphene)

    Fingers crossed.

  • NimbleBugNimbleBug Posts: 483Member

    @CodeWizard graphene-sdk supports Joints ?

  • scottharrrules43scottharrrules43 Tulsa, OklahomaPosts: 694Member, PRO

    I have a feeling Graphene is getting close to ready

  • daaddddaaddd Posts: 116Member

    @scottharrrules43 me too, I don't know why but seems to me 0.14 will be the last big update of gamesalad and than the lights will go to graphene, just a theory but I think you're right

  • HymloeHymloe Posts: 1,651Member

    I would actually really like to have a "final" version of Game Salad, with all the major issues ironed out, perhaps getting the occasional mini update just to fix any remaining bugs and issues. I usually stick with a solid version of Game Salad for a year or two anyway, and avoid all the broken ones in between. I'm a bit behind now.

    I'd love to just have a final lovely version, with the table memory bugs fixed, stable Creator, Viewer, rendering engine, etc, etc, so I can finish off my games that have been shelved these past years.

    I'll be "interested" to see how it all ends up. And by "interested", I mean I'm kind of biting my nails off with worry that some of these issues never get resolved, and some of my projects that had hundreds of hours sunk into them are lost forever. Fingers crossed.

  • mc99093mc99093 Posts: 133Member, PRO

    Why is this no longer at the top? I thought it would always be a sticky in the top section.

  • NimbleBugNimbleBug Posts: 483Member

    +1 @Hymloe

Sign In or Register to comment.