Coloring Book App

tickledpinktickledpink Member Posts: 14
edited November -1 in Working with GS (Mac)
I am developing a coloring book app for kids. What I need to figure out is how the user can select a color and then apply that color to a certain area on the "coloring page". Would I need to chop up the image into parts and have an image for each color that will be available?

You will have to forgive me I am VERY new to all of this and not sure what the best way to accomplish this would be. Any advice or help is extremely appreciated.

Comments

• expired_012expired_012 Member Posts: 1,802
    Lol you don't have to chop it into parts. Just intert everything as separate images. So say you have a tree. Insert a blank white tree and a colored tree, so that when the user clicks that tree it will bring out the new colored one.

Instead of inserting 1 image with the scene already set up, insert separate images and design your scene within gamesalad using those images
  • StusAppsStusApps Member, PRO Posts: 1,352
    Or you could have each element of the scene as a white image with a black outline. Then the user can select different colours and set that actor to change its colour when touched. This is what my wife is doing with the game she is currently making.
  • tickledpinktickledpink Member Posts: 14
    Ok, I think I understand what you mean but what if they want to use like purple for the tree top and I only have it in the white and green? Here is a link to something similar http://itunes.apple.com/app/coloring-book/id297952833?mt=8

The user would select the page they want to color, then a crayon color and tap the screen to color certain parts of it.
    @StusApps How do I connect it so the app knows which color they have chosen? (Told ya I was a newbie LOL)
    Here is a link to one of the pages I have designed http://www.tickledpinkdesignz.com/dinosaur.jpg
    tickledpink said: