Sprites and selective transitions?

tecknerteckner Member Posts: 2
Hey people, I'm a very new developer-in both obj-c and gamesalad.
I was wondering if someone would tell me how I would go about doing this? I want to have one sprite to play, and if you drag/throw an object, a seperate random sprite (off a list) would start to play, then go back to the beginning after the second sprite is done playing.

I know it's alot to ask for with a newbie, but I'm shooting far...
Thanks
-Alex

Comments

• jonmulcahyjonmulcahy Member, Sous Chef Posts: 10,408
    yea teckner, a little more info would help. When you mean spritelist, what do you mean? Are you talking about the old sprites you'd find in older games? (it's been a long time since I've done any sort of game development).

In order to do what I think you want to do, this is what I'd do:

Have player 1 animated by default

When you drag or throw that object, change an attribute you create to 1 (or something like that).

While that attribute is 1, change the animation on player 1 to the new animation.

Once the object is finished being dragged or thrown, change the attribute back to 0.

and when that attribute is 0, have the player 1 resume it's original animation.

You could do this with a few basic rules.

Player1:
    RULE
    When attribute game.action = 1
    animate: (put the images for the 2nd animation here)
    OTHERWISE
    animate: (put the images for the original animation here)

Object
    RULE
    when object receives touch
    change attribute game.action to 1
    OTHERWISE
    change attribute game.action to 0

You could even create the object's rule on a timer, so when you touch it the attribute changes to 1, and then after say 2 seconds, switch the value back.

anyways, that's how I'd do it.
  • tecknerteckner Member Posts: 2