problem about spawning a bullet to Player

btigerbtiger Member Posts: 8
edited November -1 in Working with GS (Mac)
Hi, I'm new to GS and trying to make an aircraft shooting game.
Could someone help me to solve this problem?
How to make an actor spawn a bullet move to another actor, and if the second actor move away, the bullet will still move to that direction and go beyond the screen boundary?

Thanks a lot:)

Comments

• jonmulcahyjonmulcahy Member, Sous Chef Posts: 10,408
    Make a rule on your aircraft, something like

When actor receives touch
    spawn actor "Bullet".

Then in your bullet actor add a move and destroy rule. Make the move rule in the direction you want at a speed you want. Add a destroy rule so after 1 second it is destroyed (plenty of time to leave the screen).

Also add a rule that says:
    if actor Bullet overlaps or collides with actor Enemy
    destroy actor

In your enemy actor have a similar rule:
    if actor Enemy overlaps or collides with actor Bullet
    destroy actor

This will work in any situation where you want to shoot straight. If you want to shoot with angles, you'll need to capture the X,Y coordinates of the enemy and use that as a destination point for the bullet using some custom attributes.
  • btigerbtiger Member Posts: 8
    Thanks a lot, mulcahy and tshirtbooth, your tutorial helped me a lot.
    And I have a further question, if I want to have a bullet with static velocity and have no accelaration, how to do that?
    I tryed the "Move To" behavior and when the bullet get to the target X,Y, the bullet won't go further and stayed at that point.
  • CodeMonkeyCodeMonkey Head Chef, Member, PRO Posts: 1,803
    Hi btiger,
    You can try a Change Velocity behavior if you have a target location using game attributes, game.TargetX and game.TargetY. (you'll need to create those as real type game attributes)