Calling all game devs for some advice.

dashnevadadashnevada Member Posts: 58
Hello guys

First off all I want to say hello to everyone here, it is a wonderful community were everyone helps everyone and I think with our creativity and ideas we make a lot of people happy by delivering them the best games around.

That being said, I'm writing this post to ask you guys for advice. I just graduated from college, I studied electrical and computer engineer with a minor in graphic design so I know about design, I know how to code and I know about embedded technology hardware (cell phones, tablets etc). But my true passion is game design for mobile devices. (that is why I am here)

So here is where I need some advice from you. I got offered a kinda boring entry level job to admin servers (I'm sorry if anyone here does that, meant not harm its just that I don't like it that much) and the job is outside my home city so after paying for expenses leaving in another city I would be making about 2.5k a month. doesn't sound like a lot but I'm 23 years old and I don't have a family to support so that kind of money is enough for me right now.

So I was planing to instead of taking that job offer I wanted to be an "entrepreneur" and start building lots and lots of games for iOS and maybe if I get a top game I could start my own company and start making more sophosticated games. (already got a couple of kick ass ideas)

So my question is, has anyone here done that? am I crazy? did you quit your day job to live from the app store?. I don't need to make a lot of money just about 1k a month would be nice. You think this is possible? or should I just take the job and live the normal 9-5 life?

I Don't want to ask you guys how much you make making games because it is such a rude question, but I'd love if anyone can tell me if you are having a decent income (more than 1k a month) from making games or if you could share your success stories.