Falling

rubber-chickenrubber-chicken Member Posts: 12
edited November -1 in Working with GS (Mac)
HI

Im new to this so can anyone help me.

Im making a game where you have to collect the falling items, I have the items falling, but how can i randomise this so they dont all fall at the same time. Also, How can i play an animation when these items hit the ground, kind of like a splat?

Thanks

Comments

• JGary321JGary321 Member Posts: 1,246
    I'll try to help with the falling part, when I get home tonight (don't have time right now)

But for the animation part: Make the ground an actor. When (falling actor) collides with (ground actor) play animation.
  • rubber-chickenrubber-chicken Member Posts: 12
    thanks but how do i get the falling object to stop falling so it plays the animation then dies??
  • quantumsheepquantumsheep Member Posts: 8,188
    Make a new actor and call it 'splat'.

drag a timer behaviour across to it and set it FOR 2 seconds (or however long the animation lasts).

drag an animation behaviour and put it into the timer. Put your animations images in here.

drag another timer behaviour across and set it to AFTER 2 seconds (the length of your animation)

drag a 'destroy actor' behaviour and put it in this second timer.

Now make a new rule in your falling object actor.

Have it say 'When attribute changes - self position y - is less than 20 (or whatever height the ground is at)

Add the behaviour 'spawn actor' and tell it to spawn the 'splat' actor.

Then add the behaviour 'destroy this actor'.

That should do it. Essentially, when your falling object reaches a certain height it will spawn the splat actor and destroy itself. Then the splat actor will animate and destroy itself too.

Hope that helps,

QS

Dr. Sam Beckett never returned home...
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/Quantum_Sheep
    Web: https://quantumsheep.itch.io

• rubber-chickenrubber-chicken Member Posts: 12
    that worked great :)