Be an Angel fix my Angle. Stop rotating the long way round to a given angle?

2»

Comments

• RThurmanRThurman Member, Sous Chef, PRO Posts: 2,879
    LudwigHeijden said:
    For the pendulum part. There is an example available which is almost good. Do a search in the gamesalad application. I believe it is named swing example or something. I have it working in my next update for Kung Fu Finger with the accelerometer. The only thing I couldn't get fixed is that they start at upside down when the level starts.

OK -- following your suggestion I have studied FireMapleGame's swinging/hanging demo and really like it. It is just right for learning about making things swing like pendulums. As I studied it, I realized that he had implemented a 'negative feedback control system'. (Whether he meant to or not -- thats what he did.)

For my hanging/swinging portrait, I devised the simplest 'control system' pendulum I can think of -- and will show it below. But first -- before this seems like a hijacking of the original thread, I want to bring this back around to StormyStudio's original reason for the thread. He wanted to use interpolate on his angles because it felt a little more natural to him. (Objects really do ease in and out as they move.) The control system approach I'm about to show also naturally 'interpolates' object's attributes. So Stormy, if you are still following this thread, this will help your flashlight turn towards the mouseclick with a natural effect.

OK here goes!

First of all, you have already done 90% of the work of making a pendulum swing in realizing that you need to find the difference between the current angle (self.rotation) and the desired or target angle (down because of gravity). Then all that is left is to successively approximate getting to the desired angle in small increments.