How much do artists normally charge?

mikelowemikelowe Member Posts: 177
I would like to hire a graphic designer for my next game. I want a couple of sprites and a background (minimal animation). How much do artists usually charge for this sort of thing?

Comments

• 3d103d10 Member Posts: 471
    It would be better you post the required sprites and backgrounds you need to get a quote with your contact info so you get the right picture.
    But the budget can vary from few hundred dollars to thousand dollars.In your case i think few sprites and backgrounds you will be good with few hundred dollars.
  • Braydon_SFXBraydon_SFX Member, Sous Chef, Bowlboy Sidekick Posts: 9,273
    Hey mikelowe - email me : braydon@coyer.net

I am a cheap artist with experience in Photoshop and Illustrator.

Thanks!
  • threepeasoupthreepeasoup Member Posts: 33
    Hey Mikelowe,

The range of payment for an artist is huge. Most are freelancers who go by hourly, or per project. If hourly, the range can go from $20 up to $100. ( In many cases it exceeds $100) For your case of a few sprites and a background, discuss with the artist a per project based payment. Not only do you save money for your small batch of art assets, but the artist knows exactly what hes getting into for what your asking and can judge his own time if he makes a profit doing your work. Pay is usually negotiable, but sometimes artist have a base price that is not negotiable. Communicate is key! Be precise with your description of work, then the artist has much more to go upon and not produce something you dislike. Both sides are happy and save time and money.

cheers!
    threepeaoup

• MammothMammoth Member Posts: 640