Minigolf game creation help thread

matthornbmatthornb Member Posts: 38
edited November -1 in Introductions
Hello. My name is Matthew Lyles Hornbostel. (see www.hornbostelresume.com for an overview of my art and video stuff - I actually have a bunch of websites and have done a lot of low-budget video and VFX work) I'm trying to make a minigolf game in Gamesalad, specifically one from an isometric perspective that uses a blend of miniatures and miniature-style CGI for graphics.

Unfortunately, I've never used GameSalad before, and this is a pretty ambitious first project for me to attempt with it. I may need your help to actually get it done.

The visual art and audio is the easy part of this for me. I'm going to sculpt a bunch of 1/18 scale miniature scenes for this, which will cost a few hundred dollars in materials. But it'll look interesting and stand out from other video games. I know that a real orthographic isometric perspective isn't possible in the physical world, but I've done some camera tests and am confident that I can approximate an isometric view.

The tough part is, or was, programming. I tried making a minigolf game in 2004 with Game Editor, and that one was full of bugs I could never manage to fix. I'm sort of an artist-type and find it difficult to think like a programmer and understand structured logic systems.

It's just not my strength. I prefer working with graphics.

Flash forward to today - I want to try making this type of game again, and I have some fresh visual and course design ideas.
My VFX background will help with the graphics, and I'm doing some research by playing minigolf, reading game design books, and trying to systematically nail down what makes a minigolf hole fun (or not) - while also brainstorming all kinds of fun visual elements and creative obstacles.