How do people make art for there games.

3d103d10 Member Posts: 471
How do you people make art for your games.It looks good.It must be difficult.

Comments

• WTDeveloperWTDeveloper Member Posts: 352
    The most have artists, which make the art for them. There are only a few, which make it themselves..
    WTDeveloper
  • SlickZeroSlickZero Houston, TexasMember, Sous Chef Posts: 2,870
    Download Inkscape, and take these tutorials from SpriteAttack, and you too can make great game art.

http://2dgameartforprogrammers.blogspot.com/
  • ChobbifaceChobbiface PRO Posts: 491
    edited December 2011
    I use art text 2 for logos, icons, banners, and making menu buttons etc.

For images and animations - artboard, pixelmator, and anime studio pro. Quite a few of these are on the mac app store for a reasonable price.

I am not a pro though, more a beginner, so also buy some stock backgrounds
  • nCartoonnCartoon Member, PRO Posts: 54
    Im an Artist and cartoonist so its easy to me
    I start with a pen first then use scanner
    I use computer after that to editing coloring I use my Tablet LCD pen
    and photoshop 7.0 the best photoshop for me

my web site as cartoonist in newspaper
    www.cat-toon.com

• DrakDrak Member Posts: 75
    Like ncartoon,

Sketch drawing on a sheet of paper first, ink it, scanner and then let's go for illustrator ;)
  • TomCoffeeTomCoffee Member, PRO Posts: 175
    I'm not an artist, but I've been using various versions of Photoshop for close to 20 years. Never had any classes, still can't draw worth a lick... I haven't made any straight out games, just apps for parents. I actually find myself doing a sort of hybrid vector/raster thing with Microsoft Office a lot. I use MS Word or PowerPoint to create basic shapes and then I copy them into Photoshop and apply textures and filters to make them look more realistic.