My First Character and Walk Animation

PixelgunPixelgun Member Posts: 111

I've made my first game character, and a walk cycle for movement. I'm happy with how it turned out and I thought I would share.
If you are like me, I wasn't sure how to go about animating a walk. A Google image search of "walk cycle" turned up lots of human walk cycles and a few animal ones out there. I used a horse walk cycle as a reference for my turtle.

Comments

• gilesgkagilesgka Member Posts: 73
    epic
  • LeonardDeveloperLeonardDeveloper Member Posts: 4,630
    @pixelgun
    I need an artist like you! :),
    Are you for hire or is this just hobby?,
    At the moment I use an local artist, and she's very good, but I don't realy like what he produces........
    Anyway good luck with your art and your upcoming game! (considering this is for a game right?)
  • PixelgunPixelgun Member Posts: 111
    @tshirtbooth Thanks!
    @LeonardDeveloper Yes, I am a freelance designer/illustrator. Send me a message and I'll exchange contact info with you.

This is for a game I am designing for myself. Hopefully I can wrap my head around GS and create what I have in mind. I plan to sell it on the Apple App Store when it's ready.
    @pixelgun
    I don't realy like using GS pm's as mine is fiull of messages and takes to long to load!.... I'm crap at art but great at GS coding so if you need any help on your game just give me a shout! (email)
    My email is thermoapps@gmail.com
    We can discuss contact details there too!
    All the best of luck,
    Jack
  • CloudsClouds Member Posts: 1,599
    Basically +1 to what tshirtbooth & Leonard said, a decent walk cycle is deceptively difficult to get looking good, but you seem to have nailed it !
    Thanks, everyone for the kudos! Looking at it again, I wonder if the mouth opening and closing is too much though? It looks a bit too Pacman to me now. Thoughts?
    So basically +1 to what @tunan just +1'd me on! ;)
    edited January 2012