please please please remove the loading wheel

gamedivisiongamedivision Member Posts: 807
edited January 2012 in Working with GS (Mac)
surly the loading wheel shouldnt be that hard to implement,its really a pain in the backside and looks horrible any chance we can get it removed thanks

Comments

  • Braydon_SFXBraydon_SFX Member, Sous Chef, Bowlboy Sidekick Posts: 9,273
    Nope, you cannot remove the loading wheel just yet. Many have asked GameSalad to remove or let us have our own custom loading wheel. We'll see how it goes.
  • MotherHooseMotherHoose Member Posts: 2,456
    edited January 2012
    that loading wheel is native in the device … it is Apple's generic "activity indicator"
    games that display a different indicator … do so in Xcode

    if the loadingWheel is annoying …(to you; users are used to it and only annoyed if it displays for longer than 1-3 seconds)
    keep it need-to-display time very short …
    and a developer controls how long it will take the device to load the nextScene with-in the limits of the device's processing speed!

    when you call for a newScene, the device must:
    attempt to clear out RAM memory
    put all direct image calls in scene and actors in memory
    put all code in memory
    put all sounds in memory
    then start the sceneTime which starts the actual running of the code

    So the user does not think the game has froze, the loadingWheel shows activity
    In GS Preview, and therefore on the Viewer … all elements are already in memory; there isn't loading activity

    Things you can do to speed-up the nextScene loading:

    uncheck actor's Preload Art boolean
    as @tshirtbooth said: http://forums.gamesalad.com/discussion/comment/274098#Comment_274098
    spawn the prototype of actors with large volume of rules

    for your BG actorInstance … if everything looks good … drag a null (2x2 or 4x4 transparent.png) in to the image space
    have the BG instance's 1st behavior: changeAttribute: self.Image To: correct imageName

    you can still place/align other actors correctly … click the in sceneEditor Preview
    then pause that preview … move things around to get your placements perfect … then stop the Preview
    (do Not try making adjustments without pausing that Preview!)

    @};- MH
  • gamedivisiongamedivision Member Posts: 807
    @braydon_sfx
    yeah i know i posted this in the request part,as its a request for it be replaced or removed
    thanks

    @motherhoose
    thanks for the info
  • gamedivisiongamedivision Member Posts: 807
    @motherhoose
    one quick question if im using a null actor @ 2 x 2 pixels,then i would need a change attribute to: image.png
    then i would need 2 other attributes to change the size of the 2 x 2 pixel null to 480 x 320 which is the size of the background is this correct

    thanks
  • LeonardDeveloperLeonardDeveloper Member Posts: 4,630
    edited January 2012
    Task: Removing The Loading Wheel
    image
    .....Loading
  • MotherHooseMotherHoose Member Posts: 2,456
    @gamedivision

    1st put your correct image on the ActorPrototype … open that
    then drag in behavior changeAttribute: self.image To: that image's name … as it appears on the L side in Actor's attributes section
    …drag onto Scene

    make any changes … if things align correctly in Preview; and you are satisfied

    open the actorInstance … click Images at the bottom … drag the 2x2 up over the displayed image …
    the size and position will stay the same … the 2x2 will stretch to fit the width and height of your original.

    … or you can can do in the Creator … drag the 2x2 to the actorInstance in the sceneEditor.

    play around with things … it is very easy … if you have all the actorInstance's attributes set!

    @};- MH

    PS @LeonardDeveloper … your gif is a most annoying gift! :P
  • LeonardDeveloperLeonardDeveloper Member Posts: 4,630
    edited January 2012
    @motherhoose
    Thanks lol! My reply is loading: image
    Cheers Thermoapps,
    image image
    image
    Im just a fish in a pond! :D
    image
  • gamedivisiongamedivision Member Posts: 807
    haha
    thanks motherhoose
  • MotherHooseMotherHoose Member Posts: 2,456
    most welcome @gamedivision … we all learn from each other!

    @LeonardDeveloper … you are driving yourself and others crazy because your wheels are seriously out of alignment!

    love the fishy!

    @};- MH
  • Rob2Rob2 Member Posts: 2,402
    @gamedivision I believe GS use this https://github.com/kelan/yrk-spinning-progress-indicator so along with more options being available total absence should also be possible!
  • TouchTiltGamesTouchTiltGames Member Posts: 1,162
    I would love to be able to customize the wheel!
  • MotherHooseMotherHoose Member Posts: 2,456
    Apple iOS devices use Apple's activity indicator; defined in Xcode and no doubt included in the Unix Executable file packaged with GS's apps.

    think the only new option is 10/2011: "Starting in iOS 5.0, you can set the color of the activity indicator by using the color property."

    and think the colors are greyscale.

    don't think that your app or GS in anyway calls for the activity indicator … the device does so while processing/loading things.

    (a developer can easily change the loading wheel on desktop programs … but devices/iOS are very protective of resources.)

    @};- MH
  • Rob2Rob2 Member Posts: 2,402
    @MotherHoose yes our apps DO call the activity indicator - nothing to do with the device/iOS.
  • jonmulcahyjonmulcahy Member, Sous Chef Posts: 10,408
    everyone always asks for this to be removed. it shouldn't for a few reasons:

    1. If you app does not show a loading bar, and has pauses while it loads, apple thinks it crashes and rejects the app
    2. It is a rule in the Human Interface Guidelines for iOS that you need to show some sort of indicator when loading
    3. It happened once before that the activity indicator was not showing up on our builds, and it looks like all our apps crashed.

    it's staying, just deal with it.
  • Rob2Rob2 Member Posts: 2,402
    edited January 2012
    well said :)

    but having a bit more control over it would be nice...
  • gamedivisiongamedivision Member Posts: 807
    @jonmulcahy
    why would you put that, it's staying, just deal with it.
    this is a place for request,there is no need to come with an attitude
    be polite
    it would be nice to have the opportunity to be able to change it.not remove it completely
  • RPRP Member Posts: 1,990
    edited January 2012
    @jonmulachy
    I hear what you are saying, but Gamesalad should not assume that everyone using their sdk are ignorant to these specifics (if Apple rejects it, that is our issue to unravel). Many of us have no issue creating status animations, loading bars or other status indicators and implementing them into our game. The current load icon is unflattering and is a tell-tale sign or how the app was made (not really an issue, but it breaks continuity for those of us who care about that).
  • ozboybrianozboybrian PRO Posts: 2,102
    I'd be happy with a custom loading wheel. Like we all have to design our own animation for it.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Support Fabled Apps! :D

    Please LIKE Fabled Apps on Facebook.

    Please Subscribe to Fabled Apps on YouTube.
  • RPRP Member Posts: 1,990
    edited January 2012
    Agggh stupid auto correction!!!
    Not sure why, but it was switched on.

    *edit* Wow, I was finally able to edit my previous post!
    Too bad I can't delete this one.
  • glyniusglynius Member Posts: 231
    I agrre that it would be the best to have a custom loading animated wheel. Or at least if possible to have apple's loading wheel in the center of the screen
  • KingVegattiKingVegatti Member, PRO Posts: 14

    OMG yes remove the loading wheel jesus

Sign In or Register to comment.