Making Money with Free Apps.

I'm very new to the app. creation industry, but very motivated. I know there are a lot of free apps. that get loaded on the stores, and I was just curious... do people make money somehow with free apps., or are they primarily to get your name out there?

Thanks,
Benjamight

Comments

• Braydon_SFXBraydon_SFX Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Bowlboy Sidekick Posts: 9,271
    They earn money from free apps, yes. Mostly through In-App Purchases and possibly iAds (Depends on the game)

Both of these features are available if you purchase GameSalad Pro.

Hope this helps.
  • maxbeaumontmaxbeaumont Member Posts: 616
    Hello,

So for my game Project Boom, I made it completely free with no ads or in app purchases, for primarily branding purposes. If your looking to make money off an app, iAds and in app purchases will help. The other option is to get a 3rd party advertiser to see if they'll pay you more for putting there ad in the game.

Cheers
    Max
  • ChakkuChakku Member Posts: 1,513
    edited December 2012
    @Benjamight

If I were you, I would go with Lite Version and Paid Version for your first app, rather than getting GameSalad Pro to monetize free apps.

@GSHelper 's method of branding is a risk, and you may end up working hard on a 100%-free app that doesent sell well. His game was EXTREMELY high-quality, and made by some of GameSalad's very best (it won the GameSalad game of the month, too). So unless your very confident that your app is going to be really successsful, don't monetize with free apps.

Just make sure you have a good game, then make the Lite version good enough that people get hooked on the game, but small enough that it doesen't give them a desire/need to pay for the Paid version.

And as @uptimistik said, you do need a large amount of downloads before ads make money. So if you expect your free app to get say 1000 downloads, you will make little to no money.