Random Generate a card

Hi

I'm very new to GS and trying to get my head around designing a high low card game based on a standard 52 card deck. A player picks a random card and the computer picks a random card and then the app simply compares to see who wins the trump.

Ive split my project into:
Menu Scene
Pick a card scene
Resolve the trump scene

In the pick a card scene I have created a card actor and I have a button that spawns a card, but I'm confused as to how to spawn a random card from a selection of 52 each with different values? Do I need to create 52 individual card actors? Or can I have a card prototype and just assign a random value on each instance that is created?

Comments

• IsabelleKIsabelleK Member, Sous Chef Posts: 2,807
    You can make one Card actor, and behavior: game.Card (integer).
    If player takes the first card, change game.Card to 1, etc.
    In your card actor put a rule:
    If game.Card is 1, change image to: Card1.png

And similar with the rest 51 cards :)
  • wibbsywibbsy Member Posts: 3
    HI Souschef,
    thanks for the pointers. So I'm clear, I create a card actor and add a new attribute of Game.Card (integer).
    It's the second part I'm not sure of, how do I make the game.Card receive a random value? Create Rule - Attribute game.Card random(1,52)?
  • wibbsywibbsy Member Posts: 3
    I think in the main rule for the card actor I essentially need to say:
    When an instance of that actor is spawned assign a random number to that instance's game.Card attribute between 1 and 52.
  • IsabelleKIsabelleK Member, Sous Chef Posts: 2,807
    Yes, if you use: Change attribute game.Card to random(1,52) it will randomly choose the card from 1 to 52 :)
  • CodeMonkeyCodeMonkey Head Chef, Member, PRO Posts: 1,803
  • StormtrixStormtrix Member Posts: 256
    I made a game based on this sort of that's on the app store.. Blind Man's Bluff.