Initial Trouble

DaGerbsDaGerbs Member Posts: 3
edited November -1 in Working with GS (Mac)
Maybe I sound like a total novice, but I've installed both of the files from the site, and when I open the app, select "empty" and click "choose," and...

At this point I come to the screen with "Title" "Tags" "Scenes" "Actors" etc. First off, I can't type anything into Titles, Descriptions, etc. Also, I can't create any scenes, nothing initially appears in the "scenes" menu and clicking the + sign is a dead link.

I'm really just looking to try this out, if anyone knows how I can start this working I'd be much obliged.

Comments

• xactoxacto Member Posts: 146
    DaGerbs,

This page should help you get started:
    http://gamesalad.com/wiki/quickstart_part_1

Cheers
    Xacto
  • DaGerbsDaGerbs Member Posts: 3
    I wish it did, but for some reason it continues to open an Untitled New file, no matter what I choose. There's no title, no tags, and no scene for me to choose.

At the top of the window it reads "GameSalad Creator : Project Editor - Untitled" no matter which template I choose when I first open the program.

Also I should note, though I doubt this makes much difference, that as soon as I press the green Preview button at the top of the screen, GameSalad simply quits.

If anyone's got any idea what's going on, I'd much appreciate it.
  • DaGerbsDaGerbs Member Posts: 3
    Muahahahahaha! Could that be it?? It's the alpha version.

I'm downloading off the main site, and it says beta on the page. I download the link on the right and it downloads the alpha version. Am I missing something, isn't the beta out?? (This is probably an easier question for you all to answer hehehe)
  • CodeMonkeyCodeMonkey Head Chef, Member, PRO Posts: 1,803
    I assure you that the file on the site is beta. It was named wrong with all of the hustle with the sxsw conference.

What OS/System are you running? (Please check with the system requirements. Intel based Mac running 10.5, Leopard)