What and how many new attributes can be created?

So I am studying a new template I bought trying to figure out what does what. I am trying so hard to figure out how to fade a scene out to black (I did it!!) and then fade into another scene (spent hours researching this and still cannot do it). Regardless, the template has this change attribute command of Fade in/out. I kept wondering where this comes from until I realize that it was an attribute added by the template creator. It also has a game attribute called activateFade. This got me thinking several things: Where did he get this idea that "Fade in/out" would do that? How did he know to add that as an attribute and how many more of these types of commands are there? More importantly, is there a list somewhere that I need to know about because I cannot find them. When you start a new project, GS does not have all of these commands waiting for me to activate the. They are just not there. I find this confusing. Learning GS cannot be much easier than brain surgery in the dark.

Comments

• BBEnkBBEnk Member Posts: 1,764
    it's just a made up attribute could have been called getDark or LightTheRoom and you can pretty much create all you want. and I don't have the template but in this case the creator probably tied it too the actors alpha channel to create the fadein and out effect.
  • brettw777brettw777 Member Posts: 24
    Okay, I was just now starting to figure out that these are made up. I thought they were some kind of coding commands or something. Still not clear on the capitalization of the second word. Thanks.
  • BBEnkBBEnk Member Posts: 1,764
    Okay, I was just now starting to figure out that these are made up. I thought they were some kind of coding commands or something. Still not clear on the capitalization of the second word. Thanks.
    Oh cap'n the words like that is just something I do for my attributes I don't no why, I just do. You can write them anyway you wish.