Optimizing your artwork

DillonVDillonV South FloridaMember Posts: 26
Hey everybody, I just watched another great tutorial by Tshirt Booth about optimizing artwork. However, i'm confused on one thing. In the tutorial, he explains a little bit about RAM and how sizing impacts that. Lets say you have an image that's bigger than 1024 x 1024. How will that affect your RAM? I'm still relatively new to all of this. This is the video I saw in case you didn't know which one I was talking about.

Thanks guys!

Comments

• bryanearlbryanearl Wasilla, AlaskaMember, PRO Posts: 49
    edited January 2014
    When your program starts, it is loaded into temporary memory (RAM). That means that all the code, images, sounds etc all get loaded into RAM. The less "free" (unused) RAM that your device has available, the slower it will run. If you fill it up all the way, the performance will be poor and may even error out or crash...

Regarding image sizes specifically, the larger (width and height) the image, the more RAM it will take up. A 1024x1024 image will consume more memory than 800x800.

Now, if your project's screen size is going to be 1024x1024 then you may need to have your image that size, regardless of memory use, because you want it to look perfect. You *could* cut corners to save memory, make the image 800x800 and then stretch it to fill your screen size, but that would be blurry and look terrible.

* EDITED, CORRECTED BELOW BY SOCKS *

I am unable to watch the exact video from where I am currently at, so I am posting this as general information on the subject. Hopefully I addressed your question.
  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822
    edited January 2014
    @bryanearl

Sorry to sound like an old pedant (which I am ;) ) but there are a couple of misunderstandings here . . . .
    When your program starts, it is loaded into temporary memory (RAM).That means that all the code, images, sounds etc all get loaded into RAM.