I changed res from 480x320 to 1280x720, becomes super laggy

As an experiment, I decided to change the game resolution to 1280x720, thinking everything else will remain the same and allow me a larger view of the map. Instead, it not only resized everything to fit the screen, but when I try to play, it becomes super laggy, almost not moving. Is it because I started the game out as an iphone project?

Howcome you can only change that attribute when creating the game and not have it available at anytime so you can switch between various devices while keeping graphics the same size at the pixel level?

I mean I thought I would have to make a new backdrop to be 1280 in width to fit the screen, but that was resized.

Now that I htink about it, I think I tried to open a file that was 720hd and the game wouldn't run when you played it, I assumed it was because there were too many filters.

So my other question is, was there an option to increase Game Salads memory usage? I think when I was installing it, there was some option to set the RAM use, but maybe I'm thinking of another program I installed around the same time as Game Salad.

Anyway to solve the lag issues? Is it better on the mac?

Comments

  • gyroscopegyroscope I am here.Member, Sous Chef, PRO Posts: 6,598
    edited January 2014

    Hi @Franto I don't think there's any option to increase GameSalad's RAM usage but even if there was, it's down to the Device's RAM usage eventually anyhow, do you see.

    When you say you've changed the game resolution, do you mean changed the screen size?

    ""You are in a maze of twisty passages, all alike." - Zork        temp domain http://spidergriffin.wix.com/alphaghostapps

  • FrantoFranto Member Posts: 779
    Yes, under game options, I changed the display size. Is there a way to change the camera size without it re-sizing objects on screen? I want things 64x64 for example to stay that way.
  • gyroscopegyroscope I am here.Member, Sous Chef, PRO Posts: 6,598

    I see; so a couple more question first: what device was the original size for, i.e iPad, iPhone or something else? And before you changed the size, did you have Resolution Independence checked?

    ""You are in a maze of twisty passages, all alike." - Zork        temp domain http://spidergriffin.wix.com/alphaghostapps

  • FrantoFranto Member Posts: 779
    I picked Iphone landscape, with R.I. check off since I'm building the game for Tizen before going to other platforms.

    I see now, I SHOULD have had R.I. checked on. Does this mean I should restart the game from scratch or wait until they build in a function that allows you to turn R.I. and other preferences on and off as well as be able to switch between devices.
  • gyroscopegyroscope I am here.Member, Sous Chef, PRO Posts: 6,598
    edited January 2014

    It is OK to check RI after but be cautious about replacing all your pics/graphics (twice the width and twice the height, as I'm sure you know). If it's not too much hassle for you to start again, it's probably best to do that with RI on this time around.

    It won't be long (I guess another year or a little bit longer but not took much longer after that, I'm guessing) when non-retina screens won't be supported anymore at all.... so a suggestion: get into the habit of ALWAYS selecting RI and bringing in your images twice the size that you want them to display at. Apple insist on it now anyway.

    ""You are in a maze of twisty passages, all alike." - Zork        temp domain http://spidergriffin.wix.com/alphaghostapps

  • FrantoFranto Member Posts: 779
    Twice the size? So like 64x64 will be 32x32?

    What happens if a Non-R.I. game displays on a retina display?

    Reason I checked it off was that for Tizen, it wouldn't have retina so I was advised to turn it off, but perhaps I should have done more research first.
  • gyroscopegyroscope I am here.Member, Sous Chef, PRO Posts: 6,598
    edited January 2014
    Twice the size? So like 64x64 will be 32x32?
    Well, four times the size, technically speaking, i.e twice the width and twice the height. So if you want an image to show as 32 x 32, then you must bring it into GSC as 64 x 64 @ 72ppi. (With RI checked).

    What happens if a Non-R.I. game displays on a retina display?
    Any games made without RI checked that were accepted into the store stay exactly as that; although if any need updating, you would then have to update them to take into account retina display devices. So to say again, for any apps from now on destined for the Apple Store, you must have RI checked in your Game file before you publish.

    Reason I checked it off was that for Tizen, it wouldn't have retina so I was advised to turn it off, but perhaps I should have done more research first.
    Ah, so for Tizen, you are best to treat that as a separate file, I'd suggest, i.e a copy of an RI version maybe, but as RI isn't necessary for Tizen OS, you'd have to check all your graphics sizes and change accordingly if needed. Hope that info helped you out.

    ""You are in a maze of twisty passages, all alike." - Zork        temp domain http://spidergriffin.wix.com/alphaghostapps

  • FrantoFranto Member Posts: 779
    Ah, I see. Now, I have to test out if theres some way to easily move behaviors from one game to another on windows. I read that mac has it easy in that you can just drag and drop everything between projects.
  • gyroscopegyroscope I am here.Member, Sous Chef, PRO Posts: 6,598

    Hmm, I don't know much about Windows, i'm afraid (other than you look through them, haha!)... you are correct, Mac users can drag and drop between projects, or with alt held down, copy across too... so you can't do that on PCs? Shame, hopefully one day... but in the meantime, why not make copies of the whole game file and just amend or delete in that...

    ""You are in a maze of twisty passages, all alike." - Zork        temp domain http://spidergriffin.wix.com/alphaghostapps

  • FrantoFranto Member Posts: 779
    Thanks. I think I'll start a new game once I've seen all the kinks since I don't want to make an unoptimized mess of the next without knowing the limitations of the game engine.

    Also, I found something tables can't do, I can't get a player attribute {velocity-xy} to be tied to a real attribute in the table like it can in the game section. For the first part, it only allows you to choose table1 and not the function that allows a specific part of the table to be picked.

    Also, I heard you can only import images at a maximum of 2048x2048. But I noticed such images can be stretched beyond that limit once in the game, is this recommended or would this cause lag issues?
  • gyroscopegyroscope I am here.Member, Sous Chef, PRO Posts: 6,598
    Thanks. I think I'll start a new game once I've seen all the kinks since I don't want to make an unoptimized mess of the next without knowing the limitations of the game engine.
    Seems a sensible way to approach things...

    Also, I found something tables can't do, I can't get a player attribute {velocity-xy} to be tied to a real attribute in the table like it can in the game section. For the first part, it only allows you to choose table1 and not the function that allows a specific part of the table to be picked.
    I've just done a test but failed as well but I'm convinced that what you're after there is possible; it would involve using a Constrain Attribute being your velocity constrained to your row pick system, using tableCellValue(YourTable,YourVel,1)... maybe I'll try again tomorrow although I can't promise...

    Also, I heard you can only import images at a maximum of 2048x2048. But I noticed such images can be stretched beyond that limit once in the game, is this recommended or would this cause lag issues?
    Yes, to confirm, 2048 x 2048 is the max. image size, so anything larger than that, you have to split the image into multiple images. Providing you haven't a vast amount of stuff going on at any one time you should be OK re: lag issues.

    ""You are in a maze of twisty passages, all alike." - Zork        temp domain http://spidergriffin.wix.com/alphaghostapps

Sign In or Register to comment.