Side scroller help

JayReiterJayReiter TexasMember Posts: 88

Hi everyone. I'm a complete noob at Gamesalad here and I'm struggling with some of the basics. I'm creating a side scrolling shoot em up, similar in nature to the Basic Shoot Em Up template. I'm trying to get the background to stop scrolling at a certain point. Right now the background is its own Actor with a simple Move behavior. The Move behavior settings are Move In Direction: 180, Relative to Actor, In an Additive way, At A Speed of 6. The X coordinate starting point is 713 and the Y coordinate starting point is 160. The simple Move behavior works fine and gets the background to slowly move along just how I want. I want the background to stop moving at X coordinate -233. I've tried a few different things and searched different tutorials on YouTube and Recipes, but haven't found a solution yet. What am I missing here?

Comments

• JayReiterJayReiter TexasMember Posts: 88

Please also note that I'm not very knowledgeable yet of GS. Don't assume I know what you're talking about. Please break down your instructions on a very step by step basis.

• jamie_cjamie_c ImagineLabs.rocks Member, PRO Posts: 5,772

The Move Behavior moves something at a constant rate of speed, you'd probably be better off using an Interpolate Behavior and Interpolate your background from its starting X position to the -233 you mention. It will then move until it reaches X -233 then it will stop.

@jamie_c said:
    The Move Behavior moves something at a constant rate of speed, you'd probably be better off using an Interpolate Behavior and Interpolate your background from its starting X position to the -233 you mention. It will then move until it reaches X -233 then it will stop.