detecting collision sides of a square etc.. please help

jay2dxjay2dx Member Posts: 611

Hi guys, hoping someone can help,

basically i want to detect the side of a square when an actor collides with it. simple huh!!! lol no...!

imagine the four sides of the square are numbered, 1,2,3,4

and

i have actors 1,2,3,4

i want to detect if actor 1 collides with square side 1, and so on, So for instance if actor 2 collides with square side 1,3 or 4, i still want it to collide but i want to know it wasn't with side 2, and the game would end etc..

im assuming this is possible with detecting the squares rotation as a game attribute and using a vector to angle rule, but I'm just not clever enough to figure that out as I'm still pretty new to this :)

any help would be great, and as a repayment I could do some graphics for you in return

thanks

jay..

Comments

• Braydon_SFXBraydon_SFX Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Bowlboy Sidekick Posts: 9,271
    edited July 2014

The first way that comes to my mind is to constrain actors to each side of the main actor; add an offset so they line up with the edges. If you take the time to really make sure it's close, detecting the collisions is a piece of cake, kind of like this one:

• jay2dxjay2dx Member Posts: 611

Yeah thanks man, I've tried that and it works somewhat, "need to spend more time one it" but i want to really keep the limit of the constraints down, the games is quite frantic so needs to be fast and smooth! also whatever your linking isn't working :(

• The_Gamesalad_GuruThe_Gamesalad_Guru Member Posts: 9,922

See my video on scene linking for constrains it's much faster and direct without external game attributes.

Thanks will have a look :)

• SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822
    edited July 2014

@jay2dx said:

There are lots of ways of doing this, I'd usually go with the suggestion by @Braydon_SFX - to constrain 4 actors to the edges of your square.