collide problem

youtube.com/watch?v=uIp0E-Nsfbs&feature=youtu.be

i hv create an actor, a ball that should collide with the wall i hv spawn.
but the ball sometimes collide, sometimes pass thru, and sometimes pass thru slowly.

what is happening?

Comments

  • circlelinecircleline Member, PRO Posts: 37

    If you could show your code..that'd be great

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15

    code of the ball?

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15

  • LovejoyLovejoy Member Posts: 2,078

    Sometimes if the wall actor is too thin and the speed of the ball is too fast these types of glitches can happen. If your wall actor is invisible, try making it bigger and see if that fixes the problem.

    Fortuna Infortuna Forti Una

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15
    edited October 2014

    i change the wall size from 8 to 20....still the same

  • LovejoyLovejoy Member Posts: 2,078

    How about changing the collide to actor wall instead of actor tag

    Fortuna Infortuna Forti Una

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15

    i found the problem is because i change the attribute size (height) of the wall....

    i try use interpolate is still the same.....

    if i direct set the size b4 the wall is spawn....the ball cant pass thru

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15

    direct collide to actor is still the same

  • http_gamesaladhttp_gamesalad Member Posts: 1,340

    Move the green thing to the front. Go to your backgrounds and move it to the front or click it and then and say move to front. Then go into the green line and just put collide with ball and then go into the ball and just say collide with green line.

  • http_gamesaladhttp_gamesalad Member Posts: 1,340
    edited October 2014

    You do want those two object to collide right?

  • jamie_cjamie_c ImagineLabs.rocks Member, PRO Posts: 5,772
    edited October 2014

    If the ball is moving too fast the engine will never detect the collision. Perhaps slow the ball down or make the green wall thicker so there is more of it to have to pass through, thus giving the engine more time to detect the collision.

    If that does not work, perhaps your move rules are forcing the ball to continue moving even when it should bounce. I see you've set up movement with a Change Velocity Behavior and a Constrain Behavior. The Constrain might be 'forcing' the movement to continue. I'm not sure since I've never used that combination of behaviors before, consider trying an alternate method of movement.

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15

    @http_gamesalad said:
    Move the green thing to the front. Go to your backgrounds and move it to the front or click it and then and say move to front. Then go into the green line and just put collide with ball and then go into the ball and just say collide with green line.

    the green wall is not in the background......it was spawn when the game is running...

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

    @http_gamesalad said:
    Move the green thing to the front. Go to your backgrounds and move it to the front or click it and then and say move to front. Then go into the green line and just put collide with ball and then go into the ball and just say collide with green line.

    What's the idea behind moving the layers around ? I'm not saying you're wrong, I'm just curious what the idea is ?

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822
    edited October 2014

    This seems to work fine for me, I made a much thinner wall and a faster ball and had no issues at all ?

    It even still works if you make the wall width = 0

  • http_gamesaladhttp_gamesalad Member Posts: 1,340

    I understand the green line is not a background. Thats why I said to right click it and say move to front & seeing @socks video make sure movable is unchecked and try to put bounces 0.1. & @socks sometimes when my collides don't work I move the thing I want to collide for instance the "green line" over the "ball" & then it works like a charm.. idk why its something I figured out a while ago when I first started Gamesalad!

  • http_gamesaladhttp_gamesalad Member Posts: 1,340

    @socks thats why I told him to put the green line in front so it'll be infant of that ball

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

    @http_gamesalad said:
    . . . sometimes when my collides don't work I move the thing I want to collide for instance the "green line" over the "ball" & then it works like a charm . . .

    I see, thanks.

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15
    edited November 2014

    @Socks said:
    This seems to work fine for me, I made a much thinner wall and a faster ball and had no issues at all ?

    It even still works if you make the wall width = 0

    hmmm.... but i dun wan fixed the size and the position of the wall..... if was spawn depend on where i wan it to spawn and the size might b different....

    so i use spawn actor and thn change the attribute height....thn the problem appear..

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15

    the wall size was original width = 8, height = 8

    when i use interpolate to change the height to the height i wan.... thn hv problem

    thn i try use change attribute height...... also same

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15

    @http_gamesalad said:
    I understand the green line is not a background. Thats why I said to right click it and say move to front & seeing socks video make sure movable is unchecked and try to put bounces 0.1. & socks sometimes when my collides don't work I move the thing I want to collide for instance the "green line" over the "ball" & then it works like a charm.. idk why its something I figured out a while ago when I first started Gamesalad!

    i dun know how to move to front....whn i right click....i dun hv any option to choose...

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15
    edited November 2014

    the green wall actor is an actor call "vertical wall"....it was spawn during the game

  • http_gamesaladhttp_gamesalad Member Posts: 1,340

    Bro this is an easy fix idk why its working for you. Do you have collide rules in the ball and green line?

  • http_gamesaladhttp_gamesalad Member Posts: 1,340

    Theres your problem bro... Just put collide with ball in the wall actor simple

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

    @wyattsia said:
    hmmm.... but i dun wan fixed the size and the position of the wall..... if was spawn depend on where i wan it to spawn and the size might b different....so i use spawn actor and thn change the attribute height....thn the problem appear..

    It's not entirely clear what you are saying in the post.

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15

    @http_gamesalad said:
    Theres your problem bro... Just put collide with ball in the wall actor simple

    yes..i hv put collide....

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15

    @Socks said:
    It's not entirely clear what you are saying in the post.

    the game is start without the green wall in my game....

    during the game, i will spawn the green wall in the position i wan....

    and thn the wall's size(height) is set depend on where i spawn the green wall....

    the wall's height is original 8, thn i use change size or interpolate to change the wall's size...

    if i do like u...... set the green wall b4 start game.... the ball will bounce normal....

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15

    @http_gamesalad said:
    Bro this is an easy fix idk why its working for you. Do you have collide rules in the ball and green line?

    the ball will sometime collide n sometime not....

  • wyattsiawyattsia Member Posts: 15

    @Socks said:
    It's not entirely clear what you are saying in the post.

    sorry ...my english not really good

Sign In or Register to comment.