Starting as an indie? Tips and advice

Robert Madsen discusses the good the bad and the ugly when looking to start out as an Indie developer.

Part 1

Welcome to part one of a new series on starting an indie game studio. I get a lot of questions about what it takes to start a game studio. I also hear a lot of people, espeically students, expressing a desire to go it on their own. I'll try to be fair but realistic, and share my own journey along the way.

My Journey

I have been programming all of my life. I started when I was 18 in 1980. Yep! Dark ages stuff. Around the turn of the century (that's old folk talk for "Man I've been alive for a long time!") I decided that I wanted to change things up. Game programming was something I had always wanted to do but didn't have a chance to pursue. So, I started learning more and more about the specifics of game programming and in 2008 got my first job at a game studio as a game programmer. I worked for MumboJumbo in Dallas, TX for about a year, then Other Ocean Interactive in Prince Edward Island, PEI for another year.

After Other Ocean, I decided that I wanted to start my own studio. There were several reasons that this made sense:

I had a family and I didn't want to have to move all around the country to be able to work.
My family lived in Colorado which consists entirely of small, indie studios
I was tired of working for a year and being laid off!
So, what gave me the audacity to think that, after only two years in the indusry, I could succeed at founding my own game studio?

PART 2

Like Balls? Then click here! We've 100 coming soon

Comments

• dimsdaledimsdale Member, PRO Posts: 495
    edited November 2014

its pretty tough out there. i've been in the games industry for 15yrs and our game did nothing. but follow your heart, there is a lot of luck to make it anywhere these days even if you have something good.

• jsorr2jsorr2 Member Posts: 279

Personally I think its about 3 things.