Spawning of actors

HI, in my app I have made my actors start from outside the scene and fly across the screen however I can only seem to do this from the left hand side.
My question is how to I get actors to randomly spawn and fly across my screen in different directions?

Thankyou

Comments

• SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

How are you currently getting your actors to spawn on the left (and move right) ?

• It just kind of happened :wink: but I spawn an actor from position:

floor(random(0,0)), floor random(0,300))
    And under the the actor itself it has an linear velocity of X=200 and Y=50

Not sure if that helps, im kind of new to this

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949
    edited February 2015

No need for the floor() function here since random() generates only whole numbers.

You've set your spawn actor behavior to choose an x value between 0 and 0 and a y value between 0 and 300. Is that what you meant to do?

The bottom-left of the scene is x=0, y=0. Do you have the spawn actor behavior set to relative to actor or relative to scene?

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

• The x and y coordinates are correct as my actors always fly to the right from the left of
    the screen but i would like that to do the opposite as well but i cannot seem to do this.

I am able to spawn actors in different positions but once they spawn i cant seem to make them move in different directions (However i would like them to spawn off the screen)

And they spawn relative to the scene.

Thank you for your help anyway

• Any help is appreciated

You might want to spawn one type of actor (a left-moving actor) on the right edge of the scene and another type (a right-moving actor) on the left edge of the scene.

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User