Hello from a n00b. LOL

4All2Play4All2Play Member Posts: 11

Hi everyone.

I figured I'd write a quick introduction, and say howdy to the group. :-)

When I say that I'm a newbie, I'm not lying. I've NEVER programmed before in my entire life, umm, unless you count the code I wrote back in 1984, when I was 11, for the Apple IIe? I, urr, somehow think that doesn't count though. hehe

As someone who has never developed games before, it's a bit strange that I'm here. The thing is... I was born blind, or visually impaired, or with crappy vision, or pick your own PC or non-PC terminology. LOL It comes down to the fact that I can't see very well, and, on both IOS and Android, I'm a VoiceOver/Talkback user. What does that have to do with games? Well, I'm hoping to be able to learn to develop VoiceOver/Talkback accessible card games.

I grew up playing cards with my family, games like Spades, Setback, 3/13 (Which is a version of Five Crowns but played with regular playing cards,) Rook, Phase 10, Skip-Bo, and oh so many others! I come from a big family, and we'd have the kids' table and the adults' table, both playing the same game. The kids' team and the adults' team who won the best 2 out of 3 games at their table would then play one another for bragging rights, with kids and adults picking sides and cheering for their teams! LOL

All the card games that I mentioned have versions out for IOS and/or Android, but none of them are VoiceOver or TalkBack accessible! I want to write versions of these games, with the weird variations that I grew up with included, and that are available for both the sighted and the "not-so-sighted" to play. :-)

I'd really appreciate any help that those of you with more, and that equals any, LOL experience are willing to offer. It may be that, as a total novice, this is something that I'm just no good at, but I at least wanted to try. :-)

So, hello everyone, and I look forward to what I learn here, and to meeting new people. :-)

Amy

Comments