How to pause the timer, not pause the game?

ElectroFoxElectroFox Member, PRO Posts: 22

Hi folks, I'm still new in GS and this will be my first question. I've searched around and seems like I've done whats told but still didn't work. Alright here it is:

I've followed exactly as TShirtBooth's video tutorial on making Timers. The timer works perfectly as I wanted, no issues on that. Now what I want is that when an actor is pressed, the timer will pause or freeze. I only want the timer to pause, not the whole game (my game won't have a pause option). What I have & tried is this:

Created Game Attributes as per TShirtBooth, which includes My Timer integer & Start Time integer. And all the Rules are according to his tutorial.

Then I read in forums that you have to create a boolean, so I made one and called it Pause Timer. And my rules to attempt the timer to pause is this:

In the Timer Actor, i added rule> if game.Pause Timer is false.
And the Actor i added rule> when touch is Pressed, if game.Pause Timer is true.

That didn't pause the Timer so I'm missing something here, please help. Thanks folks.

Best Answers

• nickname5862nickname5862 Posts: 51
    Accepted Answer

I get it, you want to make a countDOWN, well, that is also not that hard at all.

1. Change the attribute from the begin to 10. I don't mean using a "change attribute" behavior, but changing the attribute in 10, where you created it.
    2. ......Just make it an index attribute, that can't get lower than 0. So, not a "real" one, but "index" one and change that to 10.
    3. Put a "change attribute" attribute right at the same place where one actor tells the game to move on to the next scene. So fight before the "change scene" attribute, place a "change attribute" attribute that tells "timer (the INDEX attribute you have created) to 0"

All clear?

(PS: I don't know why, but I don't get your file in your google drive, only the actors (numbered, 1,2,3,4) and the coding in the actors. Is this normal?)