Is there any best practice info for creating game art to target multiple platforms?

I've searched GameSalad and watched a few videos but haven't really found what I'm looking for. I'm hoping someone can give me the answer or point me in the right direction. I want a target as broad as possible in terms of my game being deployed and I want to reduce the amount of time and effort in developing the artwork. This particular game is going to be a side scroller, endless runner variety with flat 2D graphics. I've never used GameSalad before so I am a novice in that regard. I'm very experienced in all other elements such as graphic design, programming and database development. I'll be using 3D Studio Max to model and render the elements and photoshop to create the finished art. I'm hoping to have a single Photoshop file to work from, from which I will generate the files for the game. My question is - "what size should this file be" both in terms of L x W and ppi. Has anyone created a psd template that has layers representing the target sizes and aspect ratios? Can I detect the device & scale sprites dynamically in GameSalad and is this best practice to do so? I'm hoping you can get the gist of my question and I appreciate any help - thanks!

Comments

• scottharrrules43scottharrrules43 Tulsa, OklahomaMember, PRO Posts: 694

Google universal binary for Gamesalad

• RossmanBrothersGamesRossmanBrothersGames Member Posts: 659

The size depends on your primary target platform. If this is iOS, and you want this to be universal (ipad and iphone) most people recommend choosing the iPad resolution in the project settings as it is easier to make an iPad game scale to iPhone rather than the other way around. Gamesalad will scale sprites for you, the more difficult part is making your game screen change depending on the aspect ratio. (If you had things like onscreen buttons on the edge of a widescreen iphone they would need to be moved in on the ipad that is not widescreen).