Actors Stopping Each Other From Running Commands

Quantum MechanixQuantum Mechanix Member Posts: 19
edited April 2015 in Working with GS (Mac)

http://arcade.gamesalad.com/games/129500

So basically I have scripts in the no button, yes button, attack symbol, defend symbol and an invisible controller. The controller has a rule that when SPACE is held it warps you out of battle and the attack symbol is attempting to consistently spawn note actors (its a rythem game) that move across the screen. But because of memory leaks, when the SPACE rule is on it prevents the attack symbol from running the command. Is there anything I can do to fix this? I've exported, imported, re-downloaded, etc.

Comments

  • tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949

    But when the SPACE rule is on it prevents the attack symbol from running the command.

    How are you "preventing the attack symbol from running the command"? Rules trigger when their conditions are true. So the only way to prevent a rule from triggering is to make sure its condition is false. You could start by posting screenshots of the "SPACE rule" and the rule that is being prevented from triggering.

    (Upload screenshots to a file-sharing service and then embed or post the links here.)

    New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

  • Quantum MechanixQuantum Mechanix Member Posts: 19

    @tatiang It is not because of anything involving space but because of memory leaks and/or failure on gamesalad's part. The actors are not even very rule heavy but they continually cause each other to be unable to execute their commands.

  • AlchimiaStudiosAlchimiaStudios Member Posts: 1,069
    edited April 2015

    @Quantum Mechanix said:
    tatiang It is not because of anything involving space but because of memory leaks and/or failure on gamesalad's part. The actors are not even very rule heavy but they continually cause each other to be unable to execute their commands.

    We really can't just take your word for it that it's a "memory leak" without knowing the details of what the rules are. If it truly is a memory leak you'll def want to give GS staff more information.

    It is also entirely possible to write conflicting code that breaks a game in Gamesalad. This could be the case, but how would any of us know or be able to help without more information about the specific rules.

    So some screenshots and more information would be great!

    Follow us: Twitter - Website

  • Quantum MechanixQuantum Mechanix Member Posts: 19

    Well I think it's a memory leak because if I turn off any of the rules in the scene. The spawning of notes will begin. The no and yes buttons toggle an accept/deny attribute which I forgot to mention in my original post.

  • tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949
    edited April 2015

    I don't want to discount what you said but I've never had a "memory leak" that prevented a rule from running in hundreds of hours of using GameSalad, including to do some very complex and memory-intensive things. It's entirely possible to create lag and have unexpected results based on how your rules are coded but to not run a rule is unlikely. Can you post a link to download your project file? I can think of several reasons why it might not be working as expected but it might just be quicker to have a look.

    New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822
    edited April 2015

    ...

  • The_Gamesalad_GuruThe_Gamesalad_Guru Member Posts: 9,922
    edited April 2015

    @tatiang don't you know it's never the coders fault, it's always GS is broken. :D

  • MantoManto Member Posts: 796

    It seems to be your spawn timer in the yes button. Is there a reason you want to spawn rays-of-light-md actor so many times a second? What kind of effect are you trying to achieve?

    Increasing the timer time to 0.02 seconds seems to make the attack symbol work.

  • zweg25zweg25 Member Posts: 738

    @Manto said:
    It seems to be your spawn timer in the yes button. Is there a reason you want to spawn rays-of-light-md actor so many times a second? What kind of effect are you trying to achieve?

    Increasing the timer time to 0.02 seconds seems to make the attack symbol work.

    So wait.. it wasn't a memory leak.. odd..

  • tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949

    @Manto said:
    It seems to be your spawn timer in the yes button. Is there a reason you want to spawn rays-of-light-md actor so many times a second? What kind of effect are you trying to achieve?

    Increasing the timer time to 0.02 seconds seems to make the attack symbol work.

    You're probably better off with particles for something like that...

    New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

  • Quantum MechanixQuantum Mechanix Member Posts: 19

    Thanks, I will change the lighting effects. It was mostly a fail safe to keep it from disappearing if the game lagged. For now it will work as a temporary fix till the bug is fully patched.

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822
    edited April 2015

    @Quantum Mechanix said:
    Thanks, I will change the lighting effects. It was mostly a fail safe to keep it from disappearing if the game lagged. For now it will work as a temporary fix till the bug is fully patched.

    Lol. :smile: There is no bug ! And having something spawn so rapidly is not the best way to ensure something will work if the game becomes laggy, in fact it will exacerbate any lagginess.

Sign In or Register to comment.