Question about picking coordinates at random

I'm relatively new to GameSalad, so please bear with me.

I have 16 coordinates which I want to make available for the actor to spawn in. However, these coordinates have to be picked at random.

So let's say I want to spawn 2 actors, and I have the coordinates:
579x486, 579x574, 579x665 and 579x753

I only want to actors to spawn, so not all coordinates will be used, but I don't want them to constantly spawn at the first 2 either.

So far I've only found tutorials on how to spawn actors at completely random coordinates, so I would love some help with this.

How do I make the actors spawn at a random set of coordinates?

Comments

• KevinCrossKevinCross London, UKMember Posts: 1,894
    edited June 2015

I would probably go with the table route. Create a table and call it something like "random spawn coordinates" with at least two columns for X and Y. And 16 rows with all of your positions you want it to spawn.

Then on the actor create an attribute called randomSpawnRow (call it what you like)

And add code like this:

Change Attribute: self.randomSpawnRow = random(1, tableRowCount(game.random spawn coordinates))
    Change Attribute: self.Position.X = tableCellValue(game.random spawn coordinates, self.randomSpawnRow, 1)
    Change Attribute: self.Position.Y = tableCellValue(game.random spawn coordinates, self.randomSpawnRow, 2)

The numbers 1 and 2 in the last two lines are the column numbers I'm assuming you'd put the X and Y coordinates in the table.

If you don't want an actor to spawn in the same place as another then you need to create a copy of the table with Copy Table, and then delete the row from the table that has just been picked with the Add/Remove Row behaviour.

I recommend looking for guides/tutorials on how to use tables if you're not sure how to use the table functions and behaviours like tableCellValue and Copy Table etc.

If you don't want to go the tables route then do something like this: