How successful is the children's app category?

I am an old developer who took a 1-2 year break from GS. Previously I made apps purely as games that I hoped would do well.

I have currently changed my focus to the children's category, making apps that help kids learn simple things like their abc's and counting etc...

I remember a few years back there was a GS dev that focused on a similar audience and had very good success doing so.

I was wondering if anyone else has some current experience in the children's section that they could share with me.

Comments

• KnightStarKnightStar Member Posts: 162

I've built and published a number of games that have been placed in the Kids' section of the App store and I can tell you there are distinct Ups and Downs.. First off, it's a really crowded market (like which part of iTunes isn't, right?) and there are already a number of 'early educational apps' out there. On the upside, if you can find something that kids can immediately attach to, you can go to town..