Change scene size when specific rule is true

goo_189goo_189 Member Posts: 4
edited September 2015 in Working with GS (Mac)

Hi guys, I am new to GS. Been learning GS for these pass few days.

I have got a question, is it possible to change the scene size when specific rule is true?

Basically, my thought is that, when my actor reaches to x=> 200, scene size will change from scene size width to scene size width +500. Or after every 1 sec of runtime, scene size will change from scene size width to scene size width +500.

The idea is to create an endless runner that will basically spawn random platform and also have an infinite scene.

I tried it, but did not work. I would like to know did I do something wrong or it is just not possible.

P/S: I have watched Jamie's tutorial, however, both tutorial does not really show what I wanted to create. As for the platform running towards player tutorial, i found that if the player hit the platform, the platform will move; as for the player running towards platform tutorial, we had to manually made the level; which means this level will end somewhere because we still have to set the scene width.

Comments

• SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

@goo_189 said:
    I have got a question, is it possible to change the scene size when specific rule is true?

Yes, you can trigger a rule with pretty much anything.

@goo_189 said:
    Basically, my thought is that, when my actor reaches to x=> 200, scene size will change from scene size width to scene size width +500.

What would that look like to the player ?

@goo_189 said:
    Or after every 1 sec of runtime, scene size will change from scene size width to scene size width +500.

Triggering something after 1 second of runtime is simple enough (Rule --When game.time > 1) . . . but what would it look like to a player for the scene size to change ?

@goo_189 said:
    I tried it, but did not work. I would like to know did I do something wrong or it is just not possible.