Open Art Question

illaciaerikillaciaerik Member, PRO Posts: 26

There are user generated sites for art sharing. Places where everyone can upload and download art for free or pay.

My question is simple. Is the art truly free to use or does the artist need to credited or are there some legal issues with Apple's(for example) licenses.

I know that this is a from case-to-case issue but I'm sure many on this forum is more educated than me. Also, reading legal documents is a jungle especially if english is not your native language....(Swede here:)

This question comes from the easy fact that I have a lot of ideas for games but I'm not an artist and I just want to be as educated as possible regarding legal stuff if I in the future choose to use somebody else's art.

Comments

• allc1865allc1865 Member, PRO Posts: 777

You can use any free art as long as the owner of the art says it's for commercial use, and if they don't say anything such as, please give me credit, or something like that, then it's fine to use.
    You just have to read what the owner of the free art says.

• illaciaerikillaciaerik Member, PRO Posts: 26

@allc1865 said:
    You can use any free art as long as the owner of the art says it's for commercial use, and if they don't say anything such as, please give me credit, or something like that, then it's fine to use.
    You just have to read what the owner of the free art says.

Yeah okay. It's as easy as that ey...Are there any trap doors to watch out for?

Like some stuff is free for open use "licensed under CC-BY-SA" or whatever.

• jamie_cjamie_c ImagineLabs.rocks Member, PRO Posts: 5,772

Are there any trap doors

There can be lots of trap doors if you are not dealing with a reputable site. I've seen lots that say basically. "We think the art on our site is free for use but check with the original author just in case". Which usually ends up being next to impossible since you have no idea who to check with.