Enemy Movement AI

quinn221quinn221 Member Posts: 280

Hi, so I have started building a top down game. I am trying to figure out the best way to have my enemies chase and attack my hero. I have done this on a platform game, but can't wrap my head around on how to do it for a top down game. I want to make sure the enemy is facing the correct direction when chasing the hero...in all 4 directions.

I found this great video, but I am not sure how to modify it so the enemy chase the hero facing the correct direction... I hope this makes sense... I am open to any suggestions.

Thanks!

Comments

• RThurmanRThurman Member, Sous Chef, PRO Posts: 2,879

To make an actor point in the direction it is traveling, use a constrain behavior:

Constrain: self.rotation To: vectorToAngle( self.Motion.Linear Velocity.X , self.Motion.Linear Velocity.Y )

• quinn221quinn221 Member Posts: 280

@RThurman thanks for the quick response...do you happen to have an example file..I am still new to all of this. I have never used the vectorToAngle before

Try this demo:

@RThurman said:
    Try this demo:

Thanks...I will play around with it. Will this let me change out the animations as well..I have a left, right, up and down animation for my enemy. so if the enemy is chasing my hero up...I see the back of my enemy...and if chasing to the left...it will play the chasing left animation...etc....

No I don't think it will help you there. It simply points to the direction it is traveling.

Ok..any idea on how to make the enemy move and have the animation point in the correct direction

• ArmellineArmelline Member, PRO Posts: 5,332

Put the different direction animations in conditions tied to the rotation of the actor.

• mhedgesmhedges Raised on VCS Member Posts: 634