Graphics and Recurring Blurriness

tholdertholder Member, PRO Posts: 15

Hi guys. I've been using GS now for a year and a half with my high school students and one thing we have a hard time wrapping our heads around are graphic issues. I totally understand resolution - I've been a graphic designer for 20 years. However when we drop in graphics, they look crisp and clean yet when we preview the game they always become slightly blurry. Do you know why this is?

The graphics are all Super Mario World Sprites gathered from Spriters resource etc. RGB 72dpi. We are not scaling them up. Just placing them as is.

Comments

• SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822
    edited October 2016

Where (on what) are you previewing the game, an Android Fire, an iPhone4, in Creator on a PC, on a Retina iPad . . . ?

What size are the images and what size are the actors you are applying them to (a single example will do) ?

Do you have Resolution independence checked ?

• tholdertholder Member, PRO Posts: 15

I'm building and previewing on a PC. The game is setup for iPhone 6 Landscape.
    The images are roughly 16x16 pixels (small) and the resolution is 72 dpi. Checking or unchecking resolution independence has no bearing on the quality. Everything looks great in preview mode.

Here's a side by side comparison. you can especially see it on the mushrooms on the right...

edited October 2016

"I'm building and previewing on a PC"

+

"Everything looks great in preview mode."

+

"When we preview the game they always become slightly blurry."

=

???

. . . . . . . . .

@tholder said:
    The images are roughly 16x16 pixels (small) and the resolution is 72 dpi.

What size are the images and what size are the actors you are applying them to (a single example will do) ? A rough idea of the size is not much use in problem solving, are you able to say what the actual size is ?

Is the camera moving ?