help with basic word game for kids with special needs

jjnim1600jjnim1600 Member, PRO Posts: 3

Hello all,

I'm new to GS and was wondering if someone can help with this. Essentially, the aim of the game is to pick the right word in a sentence. For example, here's a sentence: "The kids are walking to school."

In this sentence, the goal is to pick "are." If "are" is picked, then a voice will say "good job!" and if other words in the sentence are picked, then the voice will say "try again."

If possible, I would like to use tables.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Wil

Comments

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949
    edited October 2016

Enter the words of the sentence with each word in a separate column of a single row of a table. Enter the correct word (e.g. "are") in the last column of the table. Add an actor to the scene and copy it on the scene so that you have one actor for each word. In the prototype actor, create a new text attribute called self.Word. Also create a new integer attribute called self.colCount. Also create a new integer attribute called self.wordNum. Open each instance (copy) of the actor in the scene, and change the value of that attribute to a number that matches the word position (e.g. first actor = 1, second actor = 2, etc.).

Add these to the prototype actor:

Change attribute self.Word to tableCellValue(tableName, 1, self.wordNum)
    Change attribute self.colCount to tableColCount(tableName)
    When touch is pressed
         When self.Word is tableCellValue(tableName, 1, self.colCount)
              Play sound [good job!]
         Otherwise
              Play sound [try again]

You'll want to replace the 1 for the row number in each tableCellValue function with an attribute such as game.round or game.level. Then change that value as needed to advance to the next word.