Random movement blocks - collect "reward"

LemonKicksLemonKicks Member, PRO Posts: 64

Hello everyone,

I am new to GameSalad and I really hope you can help me in the right direction with my question.
I have added a simple image for your reference. The BlOCK has to randomly move up and down, a "reward" becomes visible as it goes up and the player has to "collect" it for points. How do I set up the block and reward to move up and down randomly (and faster as the game becomes more difficult).

Thanks so much!

Best regards,

Esther

Comments

• JScottJScott Member Posts: 143

Use a variable for the blocks speed, and change the variable every X seconds. You can increase the speed variable, or use the random function.

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949
    edited January 2017

What does "randomly" mean in this case? Does the upper block move at a constant speed, all the way to the top of its range, then back to the bottom of its range, and then pause for a random delay before repeating? Or does the upper block move up and down within its entire possible range in a spastic sort of motion (e.g. it might move up 40 pixels, then down 5, then up 2, then down 15, then up 20, etc.)? And does the speed vary as well?

Keep in mind that there is no way to tell if an actor in GameSalad is "visible." To achieve that effect, you'll have to do something like checking the Y position of the upper block actor and then if the lasso collides with the reward when Y>[some value], give the player the reward.

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

• LemonKicksLemonKicks Member, PRO Posts: 64

Thank you all for your help! Really appreciate it :smiley: