parallax background in both x and y directions?? Plus camera control??

LokitoesLokitoes Member, PRO Posts: 187

I don't actually know how to make any kind of parallax background in GS but I've seen a lot of discussion about it on here (but the linked templates seem to have mainly disappeared).

Despite being a complete noob to this area I'm wanting to make something where the character (and camera??) can move in both x and y directions around the scene and have certain background characters go slower to represent distance from the main hero/player viewpoint. So both horizontal and vertical rather than just parallaxing one or the other. Also I currently have my scene set up with my hero controlling a camera that is zoomed in on one small portion of the scene, so that the hero can meet new characters that come into the camera's view as you roam around. Hence I can't use an infinite loop style, and I kinda don't want to have to zoom the camera out to full screen if possible (again, there are clearly some basics about parallaxing that I possibly don't understand). I understand the concept of making characters that are further back simply 'go slower' but this suggests to me that it is them moving and not the camera/hero, so I'm getting confused about how to marry these things together and have character movement based on camera movement and direction.