Difficulty with a simple button, display text, and writing to tables

jbguidajbguida Member, BASIC Posts: 8

Hello again!
I am working on a sports simulator game that allows players to schedule events. I'm very new to making games, so I apologize if this is a silly question.

I have successfully achieved a few of the necessary steps, however I've run into the following troubles. I'll do my best to be as clear as possible.

I'm working with three tables: EventsSchedule, Cities and Venues.

Players see three "DisplayText" actors: One for the week that they are scheduling an event, one for the city and one for the venue.

Around each display text actor are arrows that allow the player to cycle through their various options. The WeekDisplayText actor works on a global attribute I call FutureWeekIndex. It is set in a rule as the variable for the current week +1. Clicking on the arrows around the text moves that variable one up or one down.

The same set up works for the City Display Text Actor and the Venue Display Text Actor. These arrows, instead of working with numbers, cycle their own indexes through the tables "Cities" and "Venues."

At the bottom of the screen is a button "Confirm" which is an actor that is meant to lock the options selected by the user into a row in the "EventsSchedule" table. Which row is determined by the "FutureWeekIndex" attribute. The city and the venue are added to the appropriate columns and a third column, which is an integer (because I can't seem to figure out how test booleans), is changed from 0 to 1. This third column is meant to indicate if events for that week have been "confirmed" or not.