Coin Collect and Not Re-spawn

2»

Comments

• highgroundhighground Member, BASIC Posts: 26

Hi Tatiang,
    thanks for this.
    I'm afraid I'm just learning the ropes and this part.....

textSubStr(game.coinsToSpawn, game.level * 2 -1, game.level * 2)

is way beyond my understanding.

I'll quietly back away from the scary maths but thank you very much for all your help.

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949
    edited May 2018

I know it looks intimidating.

textSubStr() is a function that returns a portion of a string (aka text attribute) from the character position of the first value to the character position of the second value. So textSubStr(turkey,4,6)="key".

In this case, I'm using a two-digit value that's part of a text attribute. The attribute example I gave was 05081119, which is 05 and 08 and 11 and 19 all strung together. I'm using two digits because if I did 581119, it would be hard to figure out mathematically what the third value (11) was. With two digits, level one is always represented in digits 1 & 2, level two in digits 3 & 4, level three in digits 5 & 6, etc. So to find the substring for any particular level, we need to know where it starts and ends:

Let's look at level 2. It's value starts at the third character and ends at the fourth:

^^

So mathematically if level=2 then the substring we want is between level * 2 - 1 (which would be 2 * 2 - 1 = 3) and level*2 (which equals 2 * 2 = 4). For any level, then, we can find the start and end of the substring by multiplying by 2 and subtracting one and then separately just multiplying by 2.

Chances are I haven't made this more clear for you. :( But I'm a teacher by profession so darn it, I had to try! ;)

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

• jamie_cjamie_c ImagineLabs.rocks Member, PRO Posts: 5,772