Simulate Bouncing

I have learned from a different discussion that you cannot get a very slow actor to bounce due to a Box2d rule, but is there any way to simulate bouncing using a rule? Maybe something using sin? Thanks!

Comments

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949

I Googled bounce sin gamesalad and one of the top results was this:

https://forums.gamesalad.com/discussion/comment/579115/#Comment_579115

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

• stan_mcginnisstan_mcginnis Member, BASIC Posts: 18

This would work for up and down bouncing, but my actor is on a flat plane where there is no gravity and it can move any direction and bounce off any wall. Also, this actor just bounces around and cannot be controlled by the player. Most importantly, the velocity should stay the same the whole time, like in a pong game.

edited November 2018

I'm no expert on GameSalad physics but I have coded a game where the actor reflects off of a wall to simulate a bounce, as you describe. I can't recall exactly how I did it (it was years ago) but I definitely used trig functions to calculate the reflection path based on the vector (direction) of the actor.

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

• RThurmanRThurman Member, Sous Chef, PRO Posts: 2,879

If the actor collides with a vertical wall, multiply its xVelocity by -1.

If the actor collides with a horizontal wall (a floor or ceiling), multiply its yVelocity by -1.

Does this mean I have to make a seperate actor for walls and ceiling? I am willing do that if that is the only way.

Yes, thats probably the most straight forward way to do it.

I suppose that if you know the boundaries, you can skip checking for collisions with actors. Instead you could just test for the actor's x,y position.