What program should i use for art?

SteakSauceSteakSauce Member Posts: 29
I have little knowledge with photoshop and was wondering if there are other programs to use. I'm not sure what kind of style my art will be, maybe vector, maybe 8 bit, maybe some style i don't know the name of. Maybe the art style used in plants vs zombies.

Cheers

Best Answers

• petercoupepetercoupe Posts: 94
    Accepted Answer
    Have a look at GIMP (free) and also SketchBookPro (not free but quite inexpensive)
    These are what I use for all my graphic work now.
  • SpriteAttackSpriteAttack Posts: 524
    Accepted Answer
    I would suggest a look at inkscape - free vector tool - and to make it the learning curve a little less steep a glance at my blog might help as well...

http://2dgameartforprogrammers.blogspot.com/
  • EddietheFistMonkeyEddietheFistMonkey Posts: 12
    Accepted Answer
    SketchBookExpress is a good application available for free with a premium option. Might be a good program to play around with while you decide on a style, vector, digital painting or hand drawn etc, you might even decide to stick with it. I find it very useful for sketching ideas although I would always start with pen and paper first. Good luck :)
  • lycettebroslycettebros Posts: 1,598
    Accepted Answer
    Recommend using vector programs (I use flash) so you can easily scale graphics for various screen sizes/formats.
  • SethsAppsSethsApps Posts: 328
    Accepted Answer
    I use pixelmator for a lot of graphics but the vector side of it isn't that great...

Answers

• SteakSauceSteakSauce Member Posts: 29
    hm ill have a look thanks!
    edited June 2012
    @SpriteAttack wow thanks! your art looks amazing!

@EddietheFistMonkey hm, ill also try it out, sounds good, thanks a lot! :D
    Oh, but its for mac, sorry i have windows ): do you suggest any other like that one?
    Recommend using vector programs (I use flash) so you can easily scale graphics for various screen sizes/formats.