How To: Pseudo-Dynamic lighting approach on actors, including Distance Lighting

DevirosDeviros Member, PRO Posts: 87
edited December 2015 in Community Tutorials

Dynamic Lighting

So - Dynamic lighting is one thing that can make a huge difference in how engaged a player is with a game, it can really add to the immersion level, and it's one of the things that Game Salad simply isn't capable of at the moment, so i started playing around, trying to see if there was some way to work around this, and i've come up with something that kind of works (at least, for the moment, for round objects). I'm going to keep refining this and hopefully have something far more workable, but i believe that it's a good start.

First off, here's a preview of what i've started to do:

So - as you can see as mister happy green ball there moves around the scene, his shine and shadow rotate to face the light. (yes, i know this only applies to round objects, right now, i'll explain my potential solution for complex objects, as awful as it's going to be, shortly).

The way i've done this is with three actors, that make up the character, ball at the bottom, then shadow layer, then eyes:

The green ball is the 'master', and the shadow actor and the eyes are both constrained to the ball's center. The shadow is then constrained via vector-to-angle to the very-square-sun there in the centerish of the scene, as such:

As the left and right keys are held down, the ball's angular velocity is increased (exponentially, because demo.), and the linear velocity is constrained the negative of the angular velocity, halved. This allows him to move, and, as the eyes are rotationally constrained to the ball, they rotate as well, in time with the ball's rotation.