Word with Friends Type Grid

Hey I am fairly new to gamesalad and I have been searching a lot for this answer but most of the links that can help me with this process seems to be broken. I wanted to how do I start in making a grid like word with friends but only 10X10.

Comments

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949

Welcome! You'll want to use tables so if you're not familiar with their use, start by Googling tables GameSalad and watching/reading the tutorials. Tables are a lot like spreadsheets and are arranged in a grid (rows & columns) format so they are a natural fit for word games.

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

• TomTomGamesTomTomGames Member Posts: 8

@tatiang ok thanks I am researching that now. I'm really using objects not the words per say but I know tables will help also. Do I have to make different actors for each square in the grid or is their a shorter way to make a hundred square grid. Sorry for all these newbie questions also. Once I get the grid down I should be fine.

Objects? Is this more of a match 3 game than a word game?

@TomTomGames said:
    Do I have to make different actors for each square in the grid or is their a shorter way to make a hundred square grid.

It's hard to answer that without knowing more details. You can spawn actors using a loop and then have instances of a single prototype at each grid spot. But there are other methods, too, depending on what you're trying to achieve.

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User