I can't constrain two objects!

chrisstoyanovworkschrisstoyanovworks Member Posts: 23
edited October 2017 in Working with GS (Mac)

Hi,I know this is probably a stupid question but I am new to GS so can you tell me how to make 4 actors staying together and spawning randomly as 1 actor on the scene.Here is an example picturehttps://c1.staticflickr.com/5/4509/24154255608_d85c0d637b_b.jpg
Thanks in advance

Comments

• Two.ETwo.E Member Posts: 599

Hello.

In short. You need to choose a main actor. This actor will need to constrain its X and Y values to game.attributes (real).

For each actor that is not the main and needs to be connected, you need to work out the difference in X and Y values from the main actor. So each actor will constrain their own X and Y positions to the value of the Game Attributes, Plus or Minus, the distance between them.

Not sure if that is explained very well, so attached is a demo. Touch and move the white actor. The pink actor will constrain to it.

Hope it helps.

Two.E

• chrisstoyanovworkschrisstoyanovworks Member Posts: 23
    edited October 2017

@Two.E I appreciate it, but can you tell me how to spawn them randomly when they are constrained

I know it is currently implementable, but wanting to spawn a group of actors to act as one (mainly for more complex collision types) is a hassle. If I were able to have actors grouped together under a single actor (even if with position being relative to that single actor), that would save some time.Please help.
    Thanks in advance

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949

Ah to have Graphene...

Yeah, it's a lot of work to set that up.

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

@tatiang ok can you explain it to me or can you give me link to go and find the info
    Much appreciated

• SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

"wanting to spawn a group of actors to act as one"