How to add an in-level button

bsamargiabsamargia Member, PRO Posts: 8

Hello all.
I have a hopefully simple question that I can't seem to find the answer for.
So in my game, our character can stand on his toes, essentially tippy toeing around, and I want to include in the tutorial a button that the player must press in the game to raise a wall barrier, by standing up higher and pressing the button with his elevated stance.
The problem is, I am fairly new to GameSalad, so I am unsure as to how to do so. I would really appreciate the help with this. Is there some kind of pre-made function for this, or do I have to add it myself? Please, if possible, respond as soon as possible.
Thanks-
B

Comments

• ToqueToque Member Posts: 1,187

Hmm. Not exactly sure what you want but....

Add Game attribute. “Raise walll”

Whatever triggers your Button

Change attribute game.Raise wall true.

In You wall you will need rule.

Attribute. Game.Raise wall true

Move your wall up.

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949

Here's a demo.

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

• bsamargiabsamargia Member, PRO Posts: 8

@tatiang said:
    Here's a demo.

While this is similar to what I had in mind, this is not what I am looking for. I am looking for something similar to when Mario would find a p-switch in a level, as a character he would press the button and something would happen. I am looking for something similar to this, where the in-game character would press the button and then the wall would raise

So when an actor touches something a wall rises?

Yes, this is pretty much what I am talking about. The only difference between this and my idea is that the character will press the button, which is basically on the floor or ceiling, and the button will recess into the ceiling or floor, the wall will open, and then it will stay open. I'm curious as to how I could do this.