Do I need to buy a Mac and do I need to change the supplier of my templates?

scottwoodscottwood Member, PRO Posts: 68

My subscription only started a couple of days ago, so I’m still very new to Gamesalad. To avoid wasted effort I’d appreciate your advice on a couple of things - should I change to a Mac and do I need to change the source of the templates I’m going to use.

Gamesalad seems to lock up and crash more often with a particular game template – but not when the code is being run, when it is being edited.
Is this likely to be a feature of the template or of Gamesalad itself?
Is the Mac version of Gamesalad generally more stable than the PC version?

I know Macs are very nice and all - but I’ve never used a Mac, I know PC’s well and I already have a reasonably good one to use. I may buy a Mac in the future for App publishing purposes, or if the ability to copy and paste between Gamesalad projects becomes more of an issue, but I’d rather avoid this if I can.

The template was bought from gshelper.com. I don’t think it is fair to name the supplier as I don’t know if it is their code that is causing the problem and I have not even contacted them about the issue yet.

Comments

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949
    edited January 2018

It's a bit of a dicey time to be buying GameSalad. The Mac version has been the preferable version for most of the company's history. It allows for testing and publishing of projects and has had the most support. In the past few years, the PC version added features that the Mac didn't yet have. There was talk of bringing both on par.

At this point, the company is focused on the educational market and has created a web version of Creator that is in beta. I have a ton of experience with Creator as a Desktop tool (on the Mac) and I'd say that the web version isn't ready for prime time. But it's getting there. Slowly.