Hey everyone, a few questions for you.

Hi,

I've been a hobbyist dev for the last decade or 2, and have completed several projects over the years. I've been predominately a unity dev for the last few years, but I'm looking to expand my tools a bit.

I've semi followed this engine for a long time, and I'm thinking about adding it to my tool bag.

I fully realize the limitations on something like this in general, and I'm fairly proficient with a few different languages, so I'm assuming the learning curve should be a smooth one.

I've just been thinking lately that I would like to add an engine like this to my workflow to quickly create some of the smaller games I have in mind.

Don't get me wrong, I love unity and will continue to use it, but the prospect of having a quick drag and drop style of "game maker" to use to produce some of my ideas sounds like a breath of fresh air.

Where better to ask than the community of people who use it?

My predominate question is pertaining to performance. I am fully aware that I have alot more power at hand with unity, but most of the time(for casual games) it's overkill really, but still involves having to write it. (Which still can be fast, but not drag and drop and edit a few variables fast)

I develop for iOS and Android both. I know what's advertised, but honestly, from those who have experienced it, how do gamesalad games fair in the wild ? Assuming correctly written, optimized logic, is the end product satisfactory? Smooth?

I am willing to sacrifice some power for dev speed as long as the end product won't end up being a waste of my time. :)

Thank you

Comments

• mikejamesfishermikejamesfisher Member, PRO Posts: 88