How to stop my hero from moving when colliding with wall. (touch and move)

sionchensionchen Member Posts: 5

Hello, I'm pretty new to GS and game dev in general. I hope it is okay to ask help here.

Anyway, I've successfully created an actor (a bunny) that can move to a touched area. see code

However, when I touch a different actor (a wall in this case), which I set on collide. It keeps trying to move towards it. I can't seem to figure out how to make the bunny stop movement when colliding with the wall.

I've tried the following:

• Setting moveX and moveY to 0 after colliding.
  • Move to self.position.x and .y after colliding.
  • Setting self.motion.linearVelocity.x and .y after colliding.

None of these seem to work. Any help is appreciated. Cheers!

Comments

• sionchensionchen Member Posts: 5

Okay, so I found a temporary solution to my own problem. Instead of trying to stop Bunny after colliding with wall, I was able to disable moving when touching a wall in the first place.

Wall rules:
    When touched, change attributes moveX and Y to 0.

Bunny rules:
    Same as screenshot shown in original post, but uncheck both "run to completion".

ps. This doesn't completely fix the problem though. If there's a Wall between Bunny and touched area, the Bunny will walk against the wall trying to get to the otherside, which kinda looks silly. But it's acceptable for now.

• mikejamesfishermikejamesfisher Member, PRO Posts: 88