GameSalad

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GS Design Patterns

ronixusronixus Posts: 19Member
edited July 2012 in Off-Topic
Hi everyone,

I'm new to GS and been wondering if there are established design patterns in place for Game Salad development.

I've seen there are a number of different ways to achieve a specific event, for instance:

"Change the Image of an Actor from Image A to B"

1. You can do this directly inside of an actor through a rule-triggered "Change Image".

2. You can control this same event through a rule-triggered "Change Attibute", which references the "self.image" attribute.

3. You can also control this from another actor through a rule-triggered Game-Level variable.

4. You can also control this through another actor directly through the scene expressions, which allow you to access other actors directly.

Given the many ways to trigger a specific event, is there any established pattern of usage that we can follow? Something like a Model-View-Controller concept?

Best Answer

Answers

• tatiangtatiang Posts: 11,796Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef
    edited July 2012
    Great question, but I don't know of any such established patterns. People tend to learn as they go and certainly there are better and worse ways to do something but I don't know that anyone has listed them all in one place.

It often comes down to a question of resource usage, so certain ways of doing things (e.g. recycling actors vs. spawning & destroying) are preferable, but it can just as easily be a matter of preference (e.g. Change Image works fine unless you need to have image names that match imported images, such as when you want to change an image based on a game-level attribute; see custom font videos, for example).