GameSalad

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Images

Hello once again! I have a slight issue with my game art.... so Im using a joystick to move around the actor and its a neon circle it works fine and looks great on the computer but when i load it up on my android phone it shows the circle but it has no glow to it.... same with all the other neon objects in my game any reason why this is happening?
heres how it looks on my computer: http://postimg.org/image/qrctxcgdx/
heres how it looks on my android: http://postimg.org/image/73yc1jchl/

Please help this has been a big issue and i have no idea how to fix it, Thanks!

Comments

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Posts: 12,822Member
    edited January 2014
    Your glow is still there, it's just that the gamma or overall brightness of the the target device is darker than your computer monitor.

    If you want to see what I mean, drag the Android screenshot into Photoshop (or equivalent) and use the Levels control (or Curves) to shift the Gamma, it just takes a small shift before the glow shows itself.

    How to fix this ? Try shifting the Gamma (or overall brightness) of your glow images, it may look a little too bright on your monitor but this ensures it will translate better to Android-Land.

    Or . . . shift the Gamma of your monitor so it better reflects what your Android screen looks like.

  • peterraadpeterraad Posts: 56Member
    @Socks i shifted the brightness all the way up and there is absolutely no difference to the image is there any other solution?
  • SocksSocks London, UK.Posts: 12,822Member
    peterraad said:

    @Socks i shifted the brightness all the way up and there is absolutely no difference to the image is there any other solution?

    You increased the brightness of your image on your computer as much as you possibly could and it had absolutely no effect on the same images when they are displayed on your Android phone ?
  • peterraadpeterraad Posts: 56Member
    For some reason when i download the latest version of my game it doesnt show the glow but when i close and kill the game salad tester application and reopen it and select the recent projects it shows the glow any reason for that? and should i be conserned about that @Socks
  • peterraadpeterraad Posts: 56Member
    edited January 2014
    I dont know whats going on sometimes it loads the glow affect up and sometimes it doesnt @Socks
  • SocksSocks London, UK.Posts: 12,822Member
    edited January 2014
    peterraad said:

    For some reason when i download the latest version of my game it doesnt show the glow but when i close and kill the game salad tester application and reopen it and select the recent projects it shows the glow any reason for that? and should i be conserned about that @Socks

    Trough a process of elimination you need to find out what the actual issue is.

    Perhaps your Android is accessing two different sets of images ? Make a copy of one of the images, put a great big red line through it, place it in the game, transfer the game to your Android, can you see the red line ? If you can't see the red line then there is an issue with the files not being properly updated, if you can see the red line, test it to see if it becomes darker / lighter when you are doing whatever you are doing (the whole: "when i close and kill the game salad tester application and reopen it" thing) - if it is actually changing tone, then there might be an issue with the brightness / gamma on the Android phone.

    Is the glow artwork on a transparent background, I know GS is having an issue with the alpha channel not working correctly, I have an actor in a project that sometimes has a black like around it and sometimes not, this might be enough the kill off your glow ?
  • peterraadpeterraad Posts: 56Member
    all of my artwork is on a transparent background @Socks what should i do if it is transparent
  • SocksSocks London, UK.Posts: 12,822Member
    edited January 2014
    peterraad said:

    all of my artwork is on a transparent background @Socks what should i do if it is transparent

    Trough a process of elimination you need to find out what the actual issue is.
  • peterraadpeterraad Posts: 56Member
    @Socks i copied the image and drew a red line through it and it loaded up the image successfully, i put the images on a white background but it still ended up with the same issue i hired the brightness all the way up and the issue still continued after that. Can i private message you my game and can you test it out yourself? of course thats if you dont mind :D
  • SocksSocks London, UK.Posts: 12,822Member
    peterraad said:

    i hired the brightness all the way up and the issue still continued after that.

    You increased the brightness of your image on your computer as much as you possibly could and it had absolutely no effect on the same images when they are displayed on your Android phone ?
  • peterraadpeterraad Posts: 56Member
    edited February 2014
    Yes, exactly @Socks
  • SocksSocks London, UK.Posts: 12,822Member
    Ok, could you do this:

    In Photoshop select half the image area, then brighten it as much as you can, import the image into your game, then over to your Android device and tell me what you see ?
  • peterraadpeterraad Posts: 56Member
    The half of the image that i increased the brightness is slightly whiter but the glow is still not showing up for either side of the image @Socks
  • SocksSocks London, UK.Posts: 12,822Member
    edited February 2014
    Can you upload a screenshot of this half-and-half image (taken on your Android) and also the original image from your computer ?
  • peterraadpeterraad Posts: 56Member
    edited February 2014
    Sure! @Socks heres the link from my tablet: http://postimg.org/image/gkmcq8fnj/
    and heres one from my computer: http://postimg.org/image/e783a7srh/
  • SocksSocks London, UK.Posts: 12,822Member
    edited February 2014
    Thanks, the glow is still there, you just need to increase the Gamma on the original image to compensate for the gamma of your Android device.


    image

  • peterraadpeterraad Posts: 56Member
    edited February 2014
    Can you explain that to me on how to do that im not really understanding how to increase the gamma on the image @Socks
  • SocksSocks London, UK.Posts: 12,822Member
    @peterraad

    Do you have Photoshop ?

    Can you see the GIF in the post above ?
  • peterraadpeterraad Posts: 56Member
    @Socks ah yes i see the gif now thanks a lot i appreciate your help it works now finally!
  • SocksSocks London, UK.Posts: 12,822Member
    @peterraad
    peterraad said:

    @Socks ah yes i see the gif now thanks a lot i appreciate your help it works now finally!


    Good ! :)>-

    Play with the gamma - adjust it - test it - adjust it - test it - adjust it - test it . . . until you see the result you want on your Android.

    One caveat: I don't know too much about Android screen technology, and I expect it changes from device to device (unlike iOS which is very consistent), but I suspect the difference in gamma and screen brightness across various Android platforms will mean that an image that looks a little dark on one device will look OK on another - and an image that looks light on another device will look a little dark on another . . . . and so on, so the the best thing to do if your image is not translating well from computer > Android, is to test the image on as many devices as you can.
Sign In or Register to comment.